Review: Lancome UV Expert GN-Shield BB Complete

I used to hate BB creams – I always thought they were over-hyped tinted moisturizers, and honestly I still think most of them are. But I received this Lancome UV Expert GN-Shield BB Complete in shade 01 in a Purchase-with-Purchase set last Christmas and I must say that I have been loving it! I find that it reduces my morning routine on a good skin day – I no longer have to put both sunblock and foundation; I just use this!

Claims by Lancome:
UV Expert SPF 50 PA+++ BB Complete features an exceptional triple potency formula offering optimal performance on protection, correction and coverage.

I won’t bore you with too much details, but apparently its pink and blue bioptic pigments with translucent liquid micro-mirrors provides skin with a fresh, luminous glow, and it also has a powerful protection system that provides 12-hour UV protection and fights blemishes and imperfections.

Does it live up to all those claims? Well, I must say that  I am very happy with the high SPF which is quite hard to find in a BB cream or any base makeup. I’m not sure if it fights blemishes and imperfections; I’m just happy that it did not cause me any breakouts even after using this product consistently.

I also like how much coverage it gave me – I would say light coverage, but better than most BB creams that I have tried. On a good skin day, I can just wear this with a bit of concealer and a light setting powder, and I am good to go.  The weird thing is that it looks quite grey-beige when freshly squeezed out of the tube, but blends out to give a nice brighter-skin finish; I wouldn’t describe it as ‘dewy’, just not flat or matte.  The texture is quite fluid, but not too watery; I find the best way to apply it is with my fingers. It’s very light weight, absorbs and dries very quickly, and does not feel greasy at all.

One downside is that this comes in only 2 shades and the difference in colour is not a lot; for me, this is not a problem as shade 01 suits me well but I can see that for anyone darker than my light-medium skin tone, it might be difficult to find a match. Also, this costs S$75 originally! If you’re the same skin tone and looking for a high protection BB cream with light coverage, and of course happy to splurge on a high quality product, I would recommend picking this up!

Rating: 4/5

One thought on “Review: Lancome UV Expert GN-Shield BB Complete

  1. Pingback: Empties #9: May 2014 – Part 2 | the fabulous nerd

Leave a Reply

