Review: Caudalie Beauty Elixir

I picked up the Caudalie Beauty Elixir sometime back after watching a video from Lisa Eldridge, one of my favourite youtube personnels who is also a celebrity makeup artist in real life. I love her videos and often run out to buy what she recommends; she mentioned this product in the video about her beauty regime on long haul flights and suddenly I needed it.

From the Sephora website, this is described as part toner, part serum mist of essential oils. The product comes in a lovely glass bottle; it makes me feel a little glamorous just carrying it around but it’s not exactly travel friendly. It’s quite expensive for something that’s essentially mostly water; I bought the smaller 30ml at around S$24 from Sephora.

Ingredients:
Aqua, Alcohol, Citrus Aurantium Amara (Bitter Orange) Flower Water, Parfum, Rosmarinus Officinalis (Rosemary) Leaf Oil, Potassium Alum, Glycerin, Mentha Piperita (Peppermint) Oil, Styrax Tonkinensis Resin Extract, Commiphora Myrrha Resin Extract, Melissa Officinalis (Balm Mint) Leaf Oil, Rosa Damascena Flower Oil, Vitis Vinifera (Grape) Fruit Extract, Tocopherol, Citral, Limonene, Linalool, Citronellol, Geraniol, Farnesol, Benzyl Benzoate, Eugenol.

The first time I used this, I did it the way Lisa used hers in the video – spraying a good amount on the palm and pressing it onto the face and breathing in. Unfortunately, I am not a mint-scent person; I almost choked in the very strong scent and it lingers too long for my liking. For a skincare product, I’m not impressed that the scent was so overwhelming.

The mint also irritated my eyes, and as with most mint products, there was a cooling feeling on my skin but the tingle was a tad too much. For all that suffering, I don’t think it made my skin smoother, neither does it tighten my pores or gave an instant burst of radiance. It does make me feel refreshed and awake, but a punch in the face would have done the trick as well.

It’s very sad, but I am not a fan – though I have to say it’s really a matter of preference and skin sensitivity, so it’s really important to test something out, especially skincare, before purchasing. At the price, I will continue to use it; I’ve been spraying it onto my face from a further distance now to reduce that concentration of mint and tingling effect so it feels a little less uncomfortable, but I won’t be repurchasing it.

Rating: 2/5

One thought on “Review: Caudalie Beauty Elixir

  1. Pingback: Empties #6: February 2014 | the fabulous nerd

Leave a Reply

