The Budget Talk #2: 1st Month Progress Update


Time really flies – I can’t believe it’s been a month already! I wanted to do a quick follow up on The Budget Talk #1 – where I set myself a budget of only spending S$500 on all things beauty for the next six months, just to keep track of what I have spent and where I couldn’t control myself the most.

Things I bought in October 2013:
1. Muji Washbag S$23.90
2. Muji Small PET bottle S$1.30
3. Muji Spatulas S$1.90
4. Watsons Nail Polish Remover x 2 @S$3.40 each
Total: S$33.90

I think I’ve done rather well this month – I went through half the month not buying anything at all until I had my exam! I was so tempted to get several items from the MAC RiRi Collection, as well as the MAC Divine Night Collection, but I held back – though I’ve been down to the MAC store so many times to swatch and play with the products! I just kept telling myself that I really don’t need to add another MSF to my huge collection of them – and just one MAC MSF can easily bust the entire month’s budget!

Also, I think what got me through most of the month was seeing some of my products finally getting used up – an empties post is coming up and I am so excited about it! Throughout the month, as I kept to a routine of using products that were already opened, I can see the amount left in the bottles heading downwards and I felt a sense of satisfaction! I’m weird, I know.

Anyway, I hope that I’ll be able to control as well in November – this is usually the month where all the Christmas Collections comes out so I really do hope that I’ll be able to hold back from going crazy!

Leave a Reply

