Empties #2: October 2013


This is only my 2nd empties post but I am loving this! It feels weirdly good to know that I have been using up the things that I bought, rather than just hoarding them. Now I know that I have put them to good use! Without further ado, let’s see what I have used up this month and some quick thoughts!

1. Garnier Clean Sensitive Gentle Facial Cleansing Wipes
Bought a few packs of these when it was on sale. I like it; I only use cleansing wipes before my gym session, and this is really convenient and removes makeup quite easily. I do find that it doesn’t clean my waterproof eye-makeup thoroughly, but I haven’t really found a cleansing wipe that can. It’s not too dry or wet. Would repurchase.

2. Essence Pureskin Anti-Spot Toner & Powder
A really cheap toner that does its job. I found regular use to be too drying for my dry skin, but if I just used this for a few days before my PMS, my hormonal breakouts seem to less severe.

3. Darlie Double Action Enamel Protect Fluoride Toothpaste
4. Watsons Nail Polish Remover
Not much thoughts on these 2 items; bought the Darlie toothpaste because it was on sale – it’s okay, the smell and taste is not too minty which I like. As for the nail polish remover, it’s cheap and I think it does its job quite efficiently – have already repurchased!

5. Alpha-H Balancing Cleanser with Aloe Vera
6. Lancome Maqui Blanc Miracle Liquid Foundation
7. Shiseido Benefiance WrinkleResist24 Eye Contour Cream
A few items that were not that memorable. I used the cleanser in the gym, and carried around the foundation just for ’emergencies’. I brought the eye cream on holiday and had a bit left.

8. Rimmel Glam’Eyes Professional Liquid Liner in 001 Black Glamour
Not a fan – I received this free with purchase of other Rimmel products so I actually have a few of these stashed away. I find the wand to be too flimsy and skinny to draw a line, and deposits too much so it takes too long to dry.

9. Elizabeth Arden Ceramide Gold Ultra Restorative Capsules
Talked about this in my last empties post as well – favourite serum/oil!

10. Seche Vite Dry Fast Top Coat
The worst smelling top coat ever but also the one that gives the best results! I really love how shiny and long lasting this makes my nail polish looks, but I’m now looking for something else because the smell of this always gives me a headache.

11. Clarins Shaping Facial Lift Lip-drain Serum
As my age gets nearer to the big 3-0, I’ve been looking around for products that prevent parts of my body from sagging. I don’t really know if it works but I do like its thick creamy texture – I don’t think a small tube like this would show results so I have already bought the full size.

12. L’Occitane Dry Skin Hand Cream
Reviewed here.

13. MAC Navy Stain Powerpoint Eye Pencil

I loved this – I went through a phase of rocking a navy blue eyeliner. It glides on very smoothly without tugging on my eyelids. Sometimes I just blend it out with another black eyeliner for a dark blue smokey look.

14. Okuma Cover Control Concealer in 01
This is actually not used up – I loved it at first, but I think the product is now ‘spoilt’ as it goes on a perfect shade and then oxidises very quickly to a dark orange-tone, which didn’t happen when I first bought it. Weird.

And that’s it! I said good bye to 14 products this month! I can’t wait to see what else I can use up for next month!

One thought on “Empties #2: October 2013

  1. Pingback: Keep Nothing | janetkwest

Leave a Reply

