Review: Eucerin DermoPurifyer Hydrating Care


I know, it’s weird for someone like me with very dry skin and no acne problems to be looking at this product. But there was a period of time that I went through really bad breakouts and wanted something that could control it. I’ve read on a blog that this was amazing in controlling blemishes, in conjunction with the Eucerin DermoPurifyer Active Concentrate, while acting as a good makeup base so I promptly bought it.

Claims by Eucerin:

With its sebum-absorbing particles new Eucerin® DermoPURIFYER Hydrating Care visibly refines the skin’s pores, imparting a perfectly matte complexion. The quick-absorbing and non-greasy formula reduces oil shine with its mattifying particles, regulated the skin’s disrupted functions, diminishes skin blemishes, decreases sebum production and provides an excellent base for make-up.

In terms of texture, it’s quite light and is yellow in colour as shown. I find that it sinks into the skin quite quickly, and dries matte without a sticky feeling. At $25.90 for a 50ml bottle, I find it to be quite affordable.

However, I have to say that the benefits end there. This product is so drying and definitely not one to be called “hydrating care”; all the moisture from the skin is sucked out upon contact. I think it dries matte because there is no moisture left! It also did zilch to help control blemishes; I actually think it caused more. Because it is so drying, I find that it dulls the look of my skin when used as a base for makeup. I also couldn’t get through the whole day comfortably because my skin was feeling too dry.

When I used it in conjunction with the Eucerin DermoPurifyer Active Concentrate, what I did get was a mild but still horrible case of eczema, where my skin started to look ‘rotted’ with a lot of tiny bumps. If you have dry skin, never use the two products together! My skin was just dry when I used either product alone, but the two products together literally ruined my skin. Thankfully I stopped after a couple of days before much harm was done.

In all, I’m still thankful that I tried this – because it reminds me to always let my own skin judge whether a product is good or not, rather than just blindly believing in what others say or blog about. I’m glad that I stopped using it when I thought something was wrong with my skin. Maybe if you have oily and acne prone skin, this might be a good product. But for someone like me with dry skin and occasional skin problems, I would stay clear of it.

Rating: 2/5

Leave a Reply

