Random Thoughts #4: Running Ahead on Half Speed


“ Now, here, you see, it takes all the running you can do, to keep in the same place. If you want to get somewhere else, you must run at least twice as fast as that.” – Lewis Carroll, Through the Looking Glass.

Lately I feel like I have degenerated; it’s as if I have been moving backwards and not improving at all. Sometimes I think about what I have done during the week, and I can’t really remember. I don’t know if it’s because I am getting old, or that I really just have not done anything.

I signed up for some Coursera lessons a couple of months earlier, but did not attend or go through any of the materials in the end. It was bad planning – with a full time job, a part time professional course, and last minute holiday planning – and a sheer lack of willpower.

I go through periods of time that I feel drained of energy; sometimes I know it’s because I’m trying to do too much at the same time. I run through moments that I have bursts of desire to do everything, and so I burn myself out and that of course leads to periods of lethargy.

I need to learn to plan better, rather than go through this cycle over and over again. Sometimes it’s not just about running twice as fast, but planning well enough to have a break so that you can sprint when it matters. Looking forward to my short break at the end of December and hope the weekend is great for everyone!

Leave a Reply

