Review: Burberry Sheer Eye Shadow in Pale Barley


I don’t usually splurge on single eyeshadows that costs way more than an entire eyeshadow palette, but I have my moments. And I had one of those moments when I saw the Burberry Sheer Eye Shadow in Pale Barley.

I love the packaging; the product comes in the usual velvet pouch that high end makeup tends to have. The casing itself has a good weight to it, and is a shiny metal with the Burberry check on it. The eyeshadow itself originally had the Burberry pattern embossed on it as well, but I’ve had mine for some time so it’s no longer obvious. I bought this at S$46, for 2.5g of product.

In terms of texture, this product is amazingly soft and buttery. I initially regretted paying so much for a single eyeshadow but once I used it, I thought it was money well spent! It’s very finely milled, glides on smoothly, blends easily, and lasted throughout the work day for me with a primer.

Pale Barley is a shimmery medium beige brown colour and has a golden sheen; it’s really hard to explain. I have to say that the name is misleading, as it is not sheer at all! I like that it is very easy to wear, and goes well with lots of looks. It doesn’t look much in the swatch photo, but its amazing as a transition shade or as a wash all over the eyelids for a fresh look.

At its price, it’s really hard to say that this is a must have. But for shades like this that I know I will use on a regular basis, I think it’s worth it. I don’t think that I will be grabbing many more of these eyeshadows but if I do find shades that are really unique or beautiful daily essential shades, then I definitely would because I love the quality!

Rating: 4/5

Leave a Reply

