Facial Oils; The Beginning, The Testing and The Search


I’ve been trying out a few facial oils lately as I have been sleeping in an air-conditioned room for the past few months and my normally very dry skin was screaming in protest from dehydration.

The first oil that I tried was the Renew 100% Organic Rose Hip Oil; I picked this up as it was reasonably priced for a good size bottle – the 25ml is still going strong after a few months of usage. It comes in a tinted glass bottle with a dropper; the oil is yellow in colour, like cooking oil, and has a pretty strong scent which I cannot place. In terms of texture, it is quite heavy and viscous; I tend to rub it between my palms so that the heat makes it more fluid before tapping onto my face. For my very dry skin, I find that it works well in combating dry patches and has not broken me out yet.

The second oil that I’ve been testing is the Kiehl’s Midnight Recovery Concentrate, which is made up from a blend of botanical and essential oils; I received a small sample of it from a beauty box subscription. I love this oil; the texture is very light and quite fluid so it spreads out easily on the face, and the scent is lighter and more pleasant. This sinks into my skin very easily, given its light texture, and I find myself waking up to really soft and supple skin in the morning and has not broken me out yet. However, this is a lot more expensive than the Renew Rose Hip Oil.

I don’t know why I didn’t start on facial oils earlier, which is kind of like a no-brainer given my naturally very dry skin, but now that I have, I am obsessed with trying out even more! What other oils have you tried and would recommend?

 

One thought on “Facial Oils; The Beginning, The Testing and The Search

  1. Pingback: Review: Renew Rose Hip Oil | the fabulous nerd

Leave a Reply

