Review: Bumble and Bumble Creme de Coco Shampoo


Sometimes the best products that I have ever bought are things that I have not done a single bit of research on before blindly purchasing, and this Bumble and Bumble Creme De Coco Shampoo is one of those things. I randomly grabbed this on a vacation because my hair was dying from using terrible shampoos provided by the hotels; I’ve heard many people talk about the brand, but have never paid much attention before this.

Claims on website
An extra-mild, luxurious cleanser with a blend of moisture-rich Coconut and Murumuru Butters to help restore sheen & softness, improve flexibility and minimize frizz.

I find the claims pretty true; within one use, my normally frizzy and bombastic hair were silky smooth and tame. The texture of this shampoo is not very thick; it’s creamy but fluid. It doesn’t really lather up, and it washes out easily for me without leaving any oily film or weighing down my hair. I also really liked the scent, which is really yummy but not too overpowering. I don’t use this everyday, because of its price, so I don’t know if it will start to weigh down hair if used daily. I find using this on alternate days really make my hair smooth and silky to the touch, and more manageable than usual.

After purchasing this, I’ve read a few reviews claiming this made their scalp so oily. I have to say that I don’t use this on my scalp – I’ve been told by many hairstylists that while I have very dry hair, my scalp is pretty oily, so I have stayed clear of letting any moisturising shampoo or conditioner come near my scalp. I do switch in cleansing shampoos to give my scalp a good cleaning. This has coconut and murumuru butters; so if you have oily scalp, obviously don’t put something with butters on it.

I won’t recommend this for people with very fine hair though, as mine is really thick, both in terms of texture and volume. However, if you have thick and dry hair, I would definitely give this a try. This shampoo does not come cheap; for 8oz of product, this cost about USD24 but I’ve enjoyed this so much that I would gladly pay another USD24 to repurchase it!

Rating: 4/5

One thought on “Review: Bumble and Bumble Creme de Coco Shampoo

  1. Pingback: Empties #9: May 2014 – Part 2 | the fabulous nerd

Leave a Reply

