Review: Too Faced Shadow Insurance


Another review on an eyelid primer – I wrote about the Elf Eyelid Primer recently, and how it was a cheap alternative that helps eyeshadows last longer. Today I’ll be touching on something that costs quite a lot more – the Too Faced Shadow Insurance. For 0.35oz, this costs about USD 20. So let’s see if this is worth the price!

Claims on website: 
This is your full-coverage insurance policy against all fading, creasing, melting, blurring, oil slicked, and hard-to-blend eye shadow accidents. Our silicone based eye shadow primer transforms any eyeshadow into a perfectly blendable, color-drenched, intensified version of itself, then locks it down perfectly until you take it off. This soothing formula evens out the skintone on your lids and smooths lines while securing a barrier between the oils of your skin and your makeup.

According to the website, this eyelid primer is formulated without parabens, sulfates, synthetic fragrances, synthetic dyes, petrochemicals and phthalates. I’m not a chemistry graduate, so I have no idea what difference that made but I assume it means it’s better for you.

The Shadow Insurance comes in a slim tube packaging; I like it as it allows me to easily control the amount I squeeze out and I can cut it open to reach any remaining product as I use it up so any wastage is minimized. The product itself is beige in color but goes on sheer, with very minimal color translating on the eyelids. The texture is smooth, spreads easily, does not feel sticky nor too slippery; it’s also very lightweight.

Even though this is expensive, just a tiny amount covers the whole lid; I just squeeze a bit out and blend it all over my lids with my finger. I find that the Shadow Insurance did very well in terms of keeping my eye makeup from creasing or fading all day. Because of its ability to make eyeshadows ‘stick’, I do try to let it dry down a bit before placing stronger or darker colours, or it will be harder to blend it out.

As compared to the Elf Eyelid Primer, the Shadow Insurance fared better, in my opinion, in making eyeshadows look more vibrant and blending eyeshadows over it was a bit smoother. If I’m reaching for something that is less pigmented, I would definitely use this as it helps amplifies the color payoff. That said, I still find that the other primer by Too Faced, the Glitter Glue, a much better companion for glitters and shimmering pigments.

In short, an absolutely great eyelid primer and I do think that it’s worth the price.

Rating: 4/5

What’s your favourite eyelid primer?

One thought on “Review: Too Faced Shadow Insurance

  1. Pingback: Empties #22: June 2015 – Part 2 | the fabulous nerd

Leave a Reply

