Review: Clarins Extra Comfort Cleansing Cream


Another Caroline Hirons induced purchase – the Clarins Extra Comfort Cleansing Cream. I’ve been using this for a couple of months, and recently heard that this is being replaced with a new version called ‘Extra Comfort Anti Pollution Cleansing Cream’, so I thought I’d better get this review out asap just in case it’s still in stock! I’ve checked with a few counters in Singapore, and they’re still available. This huge 200ml pot costs S$60.

Claims from Website:
Pure comfort for skin that is extremely dry or easily irritated. Rich, creamy formula—with Clarins’ blend of Shea Butter and Jojoba Oil —gently lifts-off make-up, impurities and flaky cells leaving skin smooth, moisture-balanced and perfectly relaxed. Rinse or tissue-off.

In terms of packaging, this comes in a huge pot with a screw on lid, which I don’t like; the thought of sticking my fingers with all its germs into an open pot terrifies me. Plus, the pot is so big I’m always terrified of overturning it all with my clumsy fingers – not the most convenient packaging!

The product itself is like a thick cream, very smooth but not watery, with a thick enough consistency that it keeps its shape for a while. It does not foam up at all. I do like the texture because it feels very soothing and comforting on my dry skin – it’s like washing my face with moisturizer.

The recommended way of using it by Clarins is to scoop a walnut-size amount, warm between both palms and then place hands flat, without pressing, over the entire face and lift briskly away to create a suction effect to remove makeup and grime, followed by rinsing thoroughly with water. My own personal preferred way is to massage it all over my face and then rinse off, because it feels good and I am too lazy to be suctioning my entire face.

This claims to remove makeup but I don’t find it as efficient. Even after 2 washes, I can still find remnants of face makeup on my skin, and it is hopeless against eye makeup. It does, however, rinse off well without any oily residue despite being so creamy and chock full of butters and oils. I find that if my skin is having a rough time, or going through a really dry and itchy phase, this usually works well in calming it down as opposed to using foaming cleansers which tends to aggravate it further.

Verdict? I really like it for how luxurious it feels on my dry skin. I wouldn’t recommend it for anyone just looking for something to remove their makeup or wants to be squeaky clean, but more of a pampering or soothing cleanse, after all the makeup has already been removed.

Rating: 3.5/5

One thought on “Review: Clarins Extra Comfort Cleansing Cream

  1. Pingback: Empties #8: April 2014 – Part 1 | the fabulous nerd

Leave a Reply

