Review: bareMinerals Pure Transformation Night Treatment


I’ve been rotating in the bareMinerals Pure Transformation Night Treatment into my regular routine about 2-3 times a week, after getting this some time ago. Yes, the lure of being able to transform while I sleep sucked me in.

Claims from bareMinerals website:
“Clinically proven to dramatically reduce the appearance of pores, increase luminosity and deliver faster cell turnover-resulting in miraculous skin-renewing benefits. Experience younger-looking, radiant, even skin tone with improved texture. This replenishes skin while you sleep so you’ll wake up to the famous bareMinerals naturally luminous glow.”

First, I thought the packaging was very wasteful. The box that it came in was huge but the bottle is about half the box size. Then, the bottle itself has even less product than it looked! There was a huge brush taking up half the space of the bottle! This was really expensive at US$60 for 4.2g of product.

I did like the brush – it helped to buff the powder easily into the skin, but with a deep well and a sifter in the bottle, it’s quite hard to get product out. I had to close the bottle, shake it about, and then use whatever is on the brush. Or I can tap the powder out on a separate plate.

After cleansing and toning, I buff the product all over my face – usually with 2 layers. It felt strange at first going to bed with makeup on, but it never transferred onto my pillows, so I got used to it. The texture is very lightweight and the powder is very finely milled, and felt really comfortable on like I didn’t actually put anything on.

The good part is, I really do get to wake up looking pretty, but so would anyone who puts makeup on before bed! After using this consistently for about 2 months, I did not see my pores reducing in size and my skin was not more luminous, as claimed. My dry skin also felt even drier; whenever I use this, I would wake up feeling like I needed a good moisturizer.

My verdict? No. I felt that this was way too expensive for what it is – makeup to sleep in. My skin texture did not improve visibly, it’s very gimmicky and I am not a fan of the terrible packaging.

Rating: 1/5

2 thoughts on “Review: bareMinerals Pure Transformation Night Treatment

  1. Pingback: Empties #16: December 2014 – Part 1 | the fabulous nerd

Leave a Reply

