Review: Chanel Vitalumiere Aqua


The Chanel Vitalumiere Aqua is one of the most talked about foundations online. I’ve also seen this appearing in a few of Lisa Eldridge’s youtube videos, so being a huge fan of hers, I couldn’t help picking this up when she said it’s good, despite the hefty price tag of around S$80 for 30ml.

Claims on website:
Its soft and evanescent ultra-fine fluid texture is a real surprise. Although it is exceptionally delicate and light, an incomparable “second-skin” perfecting result is achieved. The complexion appears amazingly even, fresh and energized. The skin glows with seemingly nude beauty.

Because it’s water-based, I have to shake it really well before using. When I first got it, I gave it a few light shakes and out came some light runny liquid that did not do anything. I gave it another go with all the arm power I had, and texture became creamier and appeared more pigmented.

After all that shaking, the texture is very lightweight, and dries down very quickly to a very matte finish on me. It just wasn’t what I thought it would do and certainly did not look “fresh and energized”. I have very dry skin, and this seems to accentuate it more and made it looked so dull.

I was matched to the lightest shade B10 by the Chanel MUA, which turned out to be a really good match. I’ve read that the coverage is buildable, but try as I might, I could not get it to cover any discolourations. I would say light coverage, slightly more than tinted moisturizer, is the furthest it could go.

I honestly hate the packaging; it’s not the most user friendly bottle – instead of a pump, it comes with a little snout that is not removable. As I use up more product, it gets progressively harder to squeeze the foundation out. Plus I have no idea how much is actually left as the bottle is opaque. It is small and boxy, which I like, but it’s a pain to use.

Bottom line, I won’t repurchase it. The packaging is a pain, and for a foundation I personally prefer something that can be built up – otherwise I’d rather reach out for a tinted moisturizer or BB/CC cream. It’s not as bad as it sounds – it is very lightweight and comfortable to wear, but probably not for someone with dry skin or needs more coverage. Also, for something that costs S$80, I expected a lot more and maybe some of that “second skin”.

Rating: 2.5/5

Leave a Reply

