Review: MUA Blusher in Shade 2


After running through several skincare reviews, I thought I should break it up with a review on a really cheap blush that I picked up some time ago. And by really cheap, I mean £1, which translates to roughly S$2.20. As I live in the most expensive city in the world, a blush that costs S$2.20 is insane!

The MUA Blusher in Shade 2 is a dusty rose shade, with some reflective fuchsia shimmers in them. When brushed on the cheeks though, the shimmers kind of disappears, leaving only a dusty rose shade. I’m quite glad that the shimmers are gone, because I prefer the dusty rose shade.

The packaging is really cheap – but at £1, something has got to go and I would very much prefer that they scrimp on packaging than quality. It’s very flimpsy, in a lightweight plastic casing and a flip up transparent lid. The top has come unhinged a few times when I open it, but can easily be fixed back.

The texture itself is soft, but quite powdery. I definitely have to tap off my brush to prevent having blush everywhere, before applying it. On the cheeks, it blends out nicely and does not look chalky. The pigmentation is good – one swipe is all it takes for average colour. Lasting power is on the low side though – it disappeared before lunch, making it less than 5 hours.

At £1 for 2.4g of product, I think the price cannot be beat. I really wanted to love this, but I don’t as I find it too powdery and a little too soft, so I don’t dare to travel with it or bring it out for touchups. I also find that the powder flies everywhere when I tap my brush on it. I don’t hate it, and I think for anyone on a tight budget this will work very well with a little bit more effort.

Rating: 3/5

Leave a Reply

