Review: Queen Helene Mint Julep Masque


Queen Helene Mint Julep Masque is a very popular and highly raved about mask online. I hunted it down before it was available in Singapore so I paid an exorbitant price for it, but Watsons have since brought it in stores, which makes it so much more convenient and affordable.

The mask comes in a simple plastic squeeze tube, which I think is pretty practical for the product that it houses. Because the masque is rather thick and stiff, a squeeze tube really makes it much easier to get to the product.

The mask itself is a green thick paste; to use, I smear it all over my face and leave it there for 15-20 minutes, which by then will dry down to a much drier and tighter cracked version, followed by some lukewarm water to wash it off. The minty scent is rather strong so if you’re opposed to that, take note.

On me, I find it way too drying. Maybe it wasn’t a great idea to use a clay-based mask on my dry skin, but I’ve tried other clay-based masks and none of them made my skin feel so dry and devoid of any moisture.

I also really don’t find that it unclogs my pores that much. It does dry some of the smaller pimples and whiteheads, and makes my skin feel really clean afters but that might be a psychological effect from the tingling sensation.

I’m finding it really hard to put a rating on this because part of my not-so-good experience is also due to product suitability – I think the moral of the story is understand your own skin type before buying every hyped-up product out there; I should have known when all the reviews mentioned it to be great for “mattifying” (I am naturally matte) and “absorbing oil”.

But if you have dry skin like me, I would say stay away from this; there are other more effective clay masks that are non drying. One that I really love is the Aesop Parsley Seed Cleansing Mask – reviewed here.

Rating: 2.5/5 on Dry skin

Leave a Reply

