Review: Embryolisse Lait-Crème Concentrè


The Embryolisse Lait-Crème Concentrè claims to be a 24-Hour Miracle Cream and a “must have product for makeup artists, models and celebrities”. I first found out about this product from one of my favourite youtubers – the Pixiwoo sisters, and after many months of contemplating whether or not to order this online for an exorbitant price, I found it during my Japan holiday trip for a reasonable price.

Claims on website:
A cult favorite that has found its way onto countless photo shoots, television and film sets internationally. This creamy lotion is three products in one: primer, moisturizer, and make-up remover. Its formula remains extremely simple and effective with nourishing ingredients that restores the skin’s natural glow and gives a boost to tired dehydrated skin.

The packaging is very simple; in a squeeze tube. I personally prefer squeeze tubes or pump bottles for skincare products, than jars, as they’re a lot easier to carry around and more hygienic. It’s also a small thing but I am anal like that and it somehow makes me really happy – that the tube keeps its squeezed shape after being squeezed. It annoys me when squeeze tubes reflate back to its original state after being squeezed!

The cream is rather rich and creamy. I use a pea size amount to cover my entire face, and I find it really soothing for my dry skin. It doesn’t irritate my skin at all but does take a couple of minutes to fully sink in; I would think that it’s quite heavy because I can still feel it on my skin after leaving it for a while, but feels so comforting when my skin is tight and dry. It’s not too thick or oily though; I find it perfectly fine to put on makeup after using this even in hot climate – it doesn’t cause my makeup to shift.

The product does contain mineral oil, which is a topic of controversy; I’m not a scientist so I won’t comment on that – all I know is I have no reaction to it. But if you’re particular about ingredients, then this is something to note. I also think that because of its thickness, it might not be suitable for oily skin.

Does it live up to its hype? I’m quite on the fence for this – I think it worked really well and lived up to its claims, especially at its regular price. My dry and dehydrated skin feels so comfortable with this on, and amazingly it worked well beneath my makeup. But because of the hype, I always expect more – above and beyond its claims, which I think is not fair to the product. I would definitely repurchase this if I can find it at a reasonable price again.

Rating: 4/5

Leave a Reply

