Review: IOPE Air Cushion XP SPF50+/PA+++ in N23


I’ve been using this product for quite a while but procrastinated on writing a review for it because I have too many thoughts on this product – the IOPE Air Cushion XP in shade N23; it took me quite a while to piece my thoughts together and I really wanted to put everything down. So if you’re interested in this product, I hope you will take the time to read through the whole post, because be warned, it will be very long!

Cushion foundations/BB/CC cream has been quite the trend in Korea for a while now; initially I was so excited about them but after trying and being really disappointed with a super hyped up one – the Laneige Snow BB Soothing Cushion, I was a bit hesitant to try more. But when I saw the IOPE Air Cushion XP online at a discount price of about S$40 for a set of compact with an extra refill, I decided to give cushion foundations another go!

I bought mine in the shade N 23; I wanted to state that the review is solely for this shade. There are a few different shades – N 21 and N 23 for natural, S 22 for shimmer, and C 21 and C 23 for higher coverage. I’ve read mixed reviews for the different shades – because the N, S and C shades can differ in coverage which inadvertently means that the texture and formulation could be different as well. The higher number indicates a darker shade, but to be honest, N 23 fits perfectly for my NC 20 skin, so I doubt anyone with a darker skin color will be able to find a color match.


The packaging is rather bulky, a really big plastic white container with a good size mirror, and a divider inside that holds the blue air puff separately from the cushion which is soaked with foundation. I like how it looks, but don’t think it’s the most convenient and travel friendly packaging.

The cushion holds about 15g of product, which is technically half the amount in a regular jar of liquid foundation, but I find that I don’t get as much usage as half a regular jar of foundation – I think it either dries out faster or a lot of product is stuck/soaked in the cushion! I’ve been using it on a daily basis, and it barely lasted a full month. The foundation has a strong floral scent, which reminds me a lot of IOPE’s skincare products which are also very heavily scented.

It’s very easy to apply – just use the air puff to press on the cushion and then pat the product all over the face. If you’re used to using a brush, this might be a bit tedious because swiping a brush across the face is way easier than pat pat pat pat pat pat pat pat pat patting foundation all over the face. I find it a bit difficult to use a brush with this as well, as my regular buffing brush doesn’t pick up product well from the cushion.


As for the product – I have to say, I LOVE IT. If you can bear with patting on the product with a million taps, the effect is just so beautiful. The coverage is about medium, with most of the redness and old scar marks covered up and some of my bigger pores seem to be smoothed out. I still needed some concealing for the bigger angry zits. I definitely wasn’t expecting the coverage to be that good; I guess the “C” version would be full coverage? N 23 looked really natural on me, with a very healthy glow to it – which totally blows my mind; “glow” is insanely unachievable for a dry skin girl! It’s not an oily glow, but rather it looks as if I have very good glowy skin!

The staying power is not that great – it looked beautiful for about the first 4-5hours, but starts to break down quite visibly once it exceeds that time frame, and totally gone by the end of the day so if you’re looking for something really long wearing, this might not be the best option. With SPF50+/PA+++, I would say that the sun protection is just amazing. Despite it being so dewy, it doesn’t feel very sticky or oily. I would say my skin still feels moist, but not tacky. I usually don’t powder it, as it would spoil the whole dewy effect but I did take a picture with powder (sadly I accidentally used a wrong shade that’s too dark) on for reference.

Just a quick note on a con – it seems to me to be quite unhygienic, or require a lot of cleaning? Because the best way to apply is to use the air puff, and I use the air puff to get product from the cushion, which means the air puff comes in contact with the skin and then back to the cushion, and back to the skin. Imagine how many rounds of transfer of bacteria that is!

After trying this, I am inclined to purchase the rest of shades (in “C” and “S”); it’s crazy but I really want to try out all of them to see if there really is a difference between them. If you have dry skin and have been looking for products to give you that unattainable glow, do give this a try!

Rating: 4/5

2 thoughts on “Review: IOPE Air Cushion XP SPF50+/PA+++ in N23

  1. Pingback: Empties #10: June 2014 | the fabulous nerd

  2. Pingback: Empties #17: January 2015 – Part 2 | the fabulous nerd

Leave a Reply

