Review: Hada Labo Super Hyaluronic Acid Moisturizing Cleansing Oil


“Hyaluronic Acid” has been the magic word in the beauty world for dry skin girls lately – and it seems like the perfect selling point for new products coming on the market! That was also the reason why I picked up the Hada Labo Super Hyaluronic Acid Moisturizing Cleansing Oil – why I would like my makeup remover to be moisturizing, I don’t know. But I saw the word hyaluronic acid and before I knew it, the bottle came home with me.

Claims on Website:
Formulated with High Purity Olive Oil to deep clean and gently remove dirt, excessive oil, and stubborn makeup instantly. High cleansing ability even for waterproof mascara. Gentle to your delicate eye area and eyelashes. Enhanced with Super Hyaluronic Acid to intensely hydrate and maintain skin’s moisture balance leaving skin soft and smooth. Free of fragrance, mineral oil, alcohol and colourant.

The oil is in a very simple yellow plastic pump bottle. There is no scent, since it is free of fragrance, and is colorless. The texture is pretty fluid and runny; there is still some “thickness” to it – heavier than water, but doesn’t feel as oily or heavy as a some cleansing oils I’ve tried, such as Shu Uemura cleansing oils. Given that “Hyaluronic Acid” is the main selling point, the ingredient is also last on the ingredient list; but I am not a chemist or scientist, so perhaps it is not needed in large quantities to be effective?

To use, I put about 2 pumps onto dry hands and gently massage it on dry face and eye area. When that’s done, I wet my face to emulsify the oil and then rinse thoroughly with water to remove it all. This product does a quite decent job at removing all traces of face makeup. For waterproof mascaras, I usually massage a bit longer to get it all off. I also find that my eyes ‘clouds up’ after massaging this all over but it’s normal and does not sting my eyes. Sometimes if I’m wearing very heavy eye makeup, I find that I need to use this twice but the second cleanse does get rid of all traces of makeup.

The best thing about this oil is that there is no oily residue after rinsing. With some cleansing oils, I feel like there is a layer of film left on my face even after rinsing thoroughly; but not with this. My face just feels really clean and soft, with no tight feeling. I’ve been using this quite consistently and it did not break me out but I am also not prone to breakouts.

While I don’t particularly like using cleansing oil because of the hassle – having to be in the toilet to emulsify the oil and rinse it off and so on, I’ve really enjoyed this one. I find it really gentle and soothing to my skin, and leaves my skin feeling nice and soft while being effective at makeup removal. I personally prefer using micellar waters on a daily basis, but those take a few more swipes to fully get rid of makeup and tends to irritate my skin when they’re not at their best, so I find using this cleansing oil much more soothing when my skin is feeling more sensitive. A big thumbs up!

Rating: 4/5

One thought on “Review: Hada Labo Super Hyaluronic Acid Moisturizing Cleansing Oil

  1. Pingback: Empties #14: October 2014 – Part 2 | the fabulous nerd

Leave a Reply

