Empties #11: July 2014 – Part 1


Hi everyone! It’s empties time again! Another large empties post – managed to accumulate A LOT of products; some completed, and some too old and needed to be thrown out. I routinely check through my stash every few months and toss out items that are bad, expired or opened for too long.

I don’t always follow the expiry date for makeup – I toss it if it’s no longer in good condition/quality and sometimes if it’s too old, but I’m quite strict about doing so for skincare products. I don’t know why, since it all goes onto my face! Anyway, let’s see what empties I have this month!

1. Head & Shoulders Clean & Balanced Anti-Dandruff Shampoo
I don’t have dandruff but I really enjoy Head & Shouders’ shampoos. I find it gives a good cleanse, and leaves my hair feeling quite soft and smooth; it also does not dry my hair out. Plus it’s really affordable!

2. La Roche-Posay Anthelios XL Tinted Cream
La Roche-Posay is my go-to brand for sunblocks. I didn’t manage to finish this as it is tinted and really dark for me; I only use it on weekends where I can be bothered to mix it with other lighter-colour tinted moisturizers. Otherwise, I like its texture; it sinks in very fast and does not feel greasy.

3,4,5,6,7. Sulwhasoo Snowise EX Whitening Water
I had a few half-used bottles in my gym bag and wanted to clear them out; I bought a bag of about 20 sample bottles of these online and they are so handy for gym! I’ve really enjoyed them – they make my skin feel nice and soft; not sure about whitening but it’s a good after-gym toning water.

8. Laneige Balancing Emulsion Light
Another post-gym friendly item; a very lightweight emulsion – a bit too light and watery for my dry skin but feels good enough for the journey home.

9. Clarins Bust Beauty Firming Lotion
Hmmm. My mum received this as a GWP and for some reason felt that I needed it more than her. I honestly have not seen any difference to my… assets, but I don’t actually think I need this yet either?

10. IOPE Super Vital Extra Moist Emulsion
I wrote about this a few months back – not a fan mainly because of the extremely strong scent for the whole range, but I did like the texture – very lightweight and works well in the day time even under makeup.

11. FANCL Aging Care Essence
Got this from a beauty box. RRP was $78, which is quite expensive for 18ml of product. The brand has left Singapore’s shores so I can’t repurchase even if I wanted to, so it’s a good thing that I don’t – it’s ok; it has a light non-sticky texture and sinks in fast but didnt really wow me. My skin does feel soft and moisturized after using this, but I don’t feel the effect lasts.

12. Himalaya Herbals Purifying Mud Pack
Throwing this full bottle out. I’m definitely allergic to one or more ingredients in it. The first time I used this, I forgot to do a patch test first and went ahead to put it all over my face. Within 5 minutes, I could feel my face burning! I wiped it off but my whole face was bright red with rashes in protest! I did do a patch test after that again, and the small patch had the same reaction.

13, 14. Oceaniq 3D Anti Wrinkle Total Solution CC
A very interesting CC Cream – it’s white in colour when freshly squeezed out from the pack, but changes to the skin color as it’s rubbed on the face. It’s creamy without being greasy, dries down really quickly and I think works better as a primer with its very light coverage.

So that’s it for part 1! Please stay tuned for part 2 coming up! A lot of makeup products that I’m throwing out so should be a lot more interesting.

Leave a Reply

