Review: Chanel Les 4 Ombres Multi-Effect Quadra Eyeshadow in Poésie #234


I’ve held back lately on purchasing expensive eyeshadow palettes lately – partly because I’ve spent too much on skincare, and partly because I already have a lot of neglected high end palettes that I really ought to use more. But when I saw this Chanel Les 4 Ombres Multi-Effect Quadra Eyeshadow in Poésie #234, and with a S$50 voucher gifted by the boyfriend, I could not resist picking it up!

Chanel has recently launched a whole new range of Les 4 Ombres Quadras featuring an all new formula with Poesie the only limited edition of the bunch. I was not really a big fan of their baked formulas in the past – they used to be hard, dry, and not very pigmented; however, when I swatched this in store I thought it felt really different from the old formulas and was stunning!

The new Quadras are packaged the same as the original Les 4 Ombres Quadras, in a squarish black plastic case which is quite flat. I actually really like these cases – they’re compact, light and sleek. These come with 2 applicators, which I really don’t use as I prefer brushes.


There are four shades in the palette – a warm bronze shimmer that is almost sparkly, a light ivory shimmer, a soft cool pale lilac shimmer and a dark burgundy coffee brown shimmer. Together, they make a really beautiful everyday palette – I can use the lighter shades for a day look, or intensify it with the dark brown for a smokey eye. There are no matte shades – everything is shimmery, but I think matte shades are overrated and these are gorgeous! It looks really boring in the swatch, but on the eyes, BAM! My eyes look like they are sparkly and shining with these!

The formula of Poésie is truly amazing; I rarely say that about baked eyeshadows but these really are da bomb. They are not dry or chalky, but actually feels really soft and velvety. They blend really easily and the pigmentation is great. I don’t know how they do it but these really shine without ugly shimmer bits. Lasting power is all day – I forgot to use a primer the other day and I didn’t even notice that. For a shimmery eyeshadow there are usually lots of fallout but there were none with this.

When I first saw that Chanel was coming out with a whole bunch of Quadras, I thought I was safe because I’ve never really enjoyed their baked eyeshadows. Now I think I am in deep trouble. Someone has to stop me. Did I mention that there is a Chanel counter right below my work place? Uh oh.

I purchased Poésie from the Chanel counter at Robinsons for S$90. I’m thinking that the green one has to come home with me soon. Have you tried any of the new Multi-Effect Quadras yet?

Rating: 4.5/5

One thought on “Review: Chanel Les 4 Ombres Multi-Effect Quadra Eyeshadow in Poésie #234

Leave a Reply

