Review: Clinique Chubby Stick Moisturising Lip Colour Balm in 04 Mega Melon


The Clinique Chubby Stick Moisturising Lip Colour Balm is not a new product, but one that I think still rivals a lot of the newer copies of this original crayon-like chubby lip product. Clinique was one of the first that I can remember coming out with these chubby sticks, and they’ve done a terrific job on them! Today I have a review for this in 04 Mega Melon.

First of all, I love its packaging. It’s hygienic and very easy to use – just need to twist up to reveal more when needed. There’s 3g of product – I have been using this for a few months, but I’ve only worn down the nib. The one issue is that once the nib is worn down, it’s quite hard to do a precise lip so I’m glad this shade is very fuss-free and does not need to be perfect.

The colour is sheer and slightly buildable. Mega Melon is not exactly what I would describe as a melon colour – to me it’s more of a mauve red with a bit of raisin in it. It applies evenly and darkens my lips with just a tinge of colour but it is definitely not melon! It feels smooth and creamy; I find it moderately moisturising and makes my lips feel very comfortable.

A few cons that I can think of is that, at about S$25 each, it’s pretty expensive for a tinted lip balm. The colour also does not last very long on the lips, perhaps due to its creamy nature. I find myself having to reapply, if I want the colour to show, about once every two hours, but my lips felt comfortable and moisturised longer than that.

I really enjoyed this balm, and would definitely recommend it to anyone who wants a nice balm with a sheer wash of colour as well as a cute and convenient packaging. It does need reapplication quite often, but the whole stick should last a very long time. Looking forward to picking up a few of the more vibrant colours! 🙂

Rating: 4/5

2 thoughts on “Review: Clinique Chubby Stick Moisturising Lip Colour Balm in 04 Mega Melon

Leave a Reply

