Review: Alpha-H Liquid Gold


So I caved and bought into the Alpha-H Liquid Gold hype… there were just too many raves for it that I could not restrain from trying one out for myself, and I love it! I bought this from the Luxola website during a 30% off sale, and its original price is SGD56 for a 100ml bottle.

Claims on Website:
Our best selling “cult” skin resurfacing treatment uses a state of the art, low pH delivery system to effectively diminish wrinkles, pigmentation and sun damage. The Glycolic based formulation works like an “overnight facial” to brighten and revitalise tired, ageing skin, and radically improve appearance of the complexion. For mature, sun damaged, prematurely ageing and for acne-scarred skin.

This comes packaged in a little plastic flip-top bottle, and a cap over it; it’s practical but not pretty or fancy. I’ve read a lot of reviews that say this has no smell, but I actually can smell something chemical. The product is a clear transparent liquid, very fluid in texture.

Now I don’t have mature, prematurely ageing or acne-scarred skin, but I do have some pigmentation issues, and small little bumps plus hormonal pimples that comes once a month. My biggest concerns are the little bumps and old scars from the monthly breakouts, as well as dullness.

The directions on the bottle says to use this 3-4 nights a week, applying with a cotton pad to cleansed skin while avoiding the eye and lip areas; for best results, night cream should not be used to allow the Liquid Gold to work “uninterrupted”. I have actually deviated from the directions – I apply it with a cotton pad on alternate nights, but with my regular serums and moisturizers on top. I did this mainly because the tingling got too much for me, and I wanted to calm my skin down. Even after using nearly the entire bottle up, I can still feel the tingling – it’s not painful but I can feel my skin getting irritated.

Even though I did not allow the Liquid Gold to work “uninterrupted”, I can still see results. I find the little bumps on my skin a lot less significant, and my skin looks ‘clearer’ and somehow brighter. I don’t have big issues with my pores, but I do feel they look ever so slightly better and less visible. I don’t think it did very much for my old pimple scars though.

In all, I really do enjoy this. It is so hard to find a product that actually helps with the little bumps on my skin and this one actually works, without a crazy price tag! The tingling takes some getting used to, but I find some moisturizer eases the irritation without removing the good effects. Definitely something that I will recommend and repurchase!

Rating: 4/5

Leave a Reply

