Review: Chi Chi Viva La Diva Cream Lipstick in Bombshell


On my recent trip down to Australia, I picked up a few Chi Chi makeup items. They’re really hard to get hold of in Singapore – I have not seen it anywhere at all, but it can be ordered online with a hefty shipping fee. One of the items I picked up was the Viva La Diva Cream Lipstick in the shade Bombshell; it retails for AUD18.95, but there was a 25% discount, which brings it to AUD14.20.

Honestly, this lipstick caught my eye because of its beautiful vintage looking packaging – it comes in a nice black box with pink detailing. The lipstick bullet itself is also black with silvery pink details – so pretty! The tube also has a little transparent bottom which shows the shade of the lipstick within, so that’s pretty useful when you’re rummaging through a drawer full of lipsticks.


I chose the shade ‘Bombshell’, which is a lovely nude pink that is very close to my naturally light pinkish lip colour. It does add a slightly darker pink tint to my lips with a hint of fuchsia and brown which I am not too fond of. I thought it would lean a little more nude pink, and the fuchsia makes me look slightly sickly instead of “bombshell”. It has a cream finish so it’s not too shiny nor matte. Please excuse my terrible lighting for the lip photos – I couldn’t get the light right no matter what I did!

The lipstick has a lovely creamy consistency, glides on smoothly and is pretty pigmented with just one coat. It feels quite comfortable to wear during the day – no dry feeling at all, isn’t too thick and covers the lips evenly. However, lasting power is kind of below average – about 2 to 3 hours, but I am not sure is because its a lighter colour or if its true for the entire range as I only bought one lipstick!

Overall, I think that this is a nice lipstick – feels great on, really pretty packaging, affordable prices – but the shade is just not too suitable for me. I can still wear it, probably for boring office days, and it wouldn’t be when I want to feel like a bombshell. The shade looked so pretty in the stores! I honestly should have picked up a few more on other shades because it’s really comfortable to wear.

Have you tried Chi Chi lip products? What did you think of them?

Rating: 3.5/5

Leave a Reply

