Empties #12: August 2014 – Part 1


Another month of massive empties! I thought using up so much items consistently every month would make a dent in my stash… but somehow that doesn’t seem the be the case! My recent subscription mystery box addiction has made things worse! On the bright side, because of the pile of growing beauty products I am now really good about doing certain beauty regimes that I never used to care about – like taking my skincare down to my dΓ©colletage, using moisturizer on my body everyday or using a hair mask weekly. So what have I used up this month?

1. The Body Shop Almond Hand & Nail Cream
I love the texture of this hand cream – very light and sinks in really quickly; this really do help when my hands are feeling tight and dry. But I won’t be repurchasing as I don’t like the smell; I don’t know why I picked up the almond one since I hate the smell of almonds, and the scent was so strong.

2. REN Clearcalm 3 Clarifying Clay Cleanser
I reviewed this here. Not a big fan, but I did managed to persevere and use it up. Towards the end I think the formula changed – it became a watery mess that sploshes out.

3. Bioderma Sensibio H2O Micelle Solution
Reviewed here. Will probably repurchase when I run out of my existing stash, mainly because it’s a lot cheaper than my preferred brand when I can find this on discount.

4,5. Sulwhasoo EX Whitening Water
6. Nuxe Fondant Cleansing Gel

If you’ve read my previous empties post, you must be really bored seeing these by now; my usual gym minis. They do their job but I’m not wow-ed by them.

7. Liole Oxygen Foam Mask
This is a very interesting mask – this bubbles up on contact with the skin so it’s fun to watch as the mask ‘grows’ and puffs up on the face. I like the fun factor but don’t think it really did much for my skin. I didn’t even manage to finish this up – after the fun wore off I forgot about it and this has been in my cupboard for a few years. I just found it and don’t dare to use it anymore.

8. Shiseido Aqualabel Moisture Emulsion S
A very light moisturiser; I didn’t really enjoy this as I find it too watery – so watery that it’s hard to control and it feels wet on my face even after a long wait. At the same time, I don’t find it really moisturizes my skin. I think it’s just not moisturising enough for my dry skin.

9. Vardi & Migdal Collagen Gold Powder Crystal Eye Mask
Wrote about this here. Insanely overpriced for what it is. Will not repurchase.

10. Nip+Fab Moisture Fix Daily Facial Moisturiser
I’ve never been a fan of Nip+Fab; I’ve tried a good number of their products and they have all let me down. I got this for free from Sample Store so I thought I’ll give it another go… and I am still not a fan. I think their products just do nothing, really. It’s a very average moisturizer, feels light and sinks in fast. But nothing to write home about, especially for something that claims to be a “miracle” product.

11. Himalaya Purifying Neem Foaming Facial Wash
Never thought that I would enjoy this as I don’t have oily skin, but I did. This comes out from the pump as a foam, gives a good cleanse, and as a ‘purifying’ wash it doesn’t feel too harsh on my dry skin.

12. Swisspers Two Step Pore Cleansing System
I’m a bit on the fence with this. On one hand it really does give a really good cleanse, even with makeup on – one side has scrubby beads that deep cleanses and the other is soft and I believe is what foams up. My biggest gripe is that you have to slip a couple of fingers into the little 2 sided pocket, and the hole is pretty small! I have quite fat fingers so it’s a very tight fit!

Stay tuned for Part 2 of August’s empties post! πŸ™‚

8 thoughts on “Empties #12: August 2014 – Part 1

  1. I know exactly what you mean! I never see any dent. And then I see the pile of boxes that come in the mail and say, oh, that’s why. πŸ™‚ But my skin has never looked so great, so you’re right…there is an upside!

    • Yes! It’s scary though because if I throw out 30 items a month, and there is still no dent…. then it must mean that I am also buying about 30 items a month…!!! :O Oh well, guess I should think of it as an “investment”. πŸ™‚

    • Thank you!

      I think I’ve seen a few bloggers mentioned that its available at quite reasonable prices on Amazon so maybe you can try looking there? I usually buy mine online too… they’re selling them in retail stores here in Singapore with insane markup (S$40 for a 500ml, so that’s 18 quid or so?) but I manage to get mine online for only S$20! πŸ™‚

  2. You’re right. I have also had the experience of my beauty regimes improving since my stash has increased. That’s interesting to read about the Shiseido moisturizer. It’s a pricey item, and I’d worry about losing some during application with its wateriness.

Leave a Reply

