Empties #12: August 2014 – Part 2


Because using up 12 items in a month is not enough, here are another 16 more! I’m thinking I seriously need to start again on a makeup budget plan because I’ve really been overspending on beauty lately and collecting too much too fast ever since the last one ended! Anyway, here are the rest of what I have finished in the month of August!


13. Yes to Cucumbers Soothing Natural Glow Facial Towelettes
I liked this – smells of fresh cucumbers which is really refreshing and doesn’t dry out my skin. The sheets feel soft and are of a good size, plus it’s moist enough but not too wet. It doesn’t remove all makeup that easily, especially waterproof eyeliner and mascara, but I mainly use this when I go to the gym after work to remove most of my day’s makeup so it’s not a big deal.

14. Dermal Seaweed Collagen Essence Mask
15. Dermal Red Ginseng Collagen Essence Mask
16. Sulwhasoo Clarifying Mask

A few more masks that I’ve used up. Dermal masks are one of the cheapest ones around I can find so I always stock up on them whenever I see it on sale. I like the Sulwhasoo mask – it’s a tear-off mask that really feels clarifying on my skin; it originally comes in a tube, but I actually find little sachets of these more convenient to store so I bought a stack of these sample sachets online.

17. Himalaya Herbals Purifying Neem Scrub
I’ve tried another scrub from Himalaya Herbals before – the Gentle Exfoliating Walnut Scrub, but that didn’t quite work out for me because the scrub beads were a little too harsh. This Neem Scrub, on the other hand, I did like – it’s creamy enough so my skin feels soft afters and the beads are smaller without sharp edges, but at the same time sizeable enough to feel the beads on the skin.


18. Mane ‘n Tail Shampoo
19. Mane ‘n Tail Conditioner

A couple of haircare products I received from a Bella Box subscription and I’ve heard a few raves about as well, but I think didn’t really came out to be as amazing. The story behind this shampoo was that it’s originally made for show horses but then word got out that it worked on human hair. It’s supposed to help hair look soft and silky, but sadly really did nothing for my very knotty and wavy hair. Maybe my hair is even harder to control than horse hair?

20. Sugarpill Goldilux Loose Eyeshadow
I sampled out most of the jar and kept about 1/10 of it for my own use… little did I know I would actually love it that much! It’s quite finnicky to work with – the pigment is really very fine and light so it flies everywhere, and needs a good stickier base to hold it. But the effect it gives off, when used correctly, is just beautiful. It really shimmers like no other pigment or shadow I’ve tried. Love.

21. Origins High-Potency Night-A-Mins
22. Shiseido White Lucent Brightening Cleansing Foam
23. Astalift Whitening Essence

The usual gym minis – they don’t usually leave a strong impression on me because I just need some skincare products on hand so I don’t have to go totally barefaced for the journey home.

24. Jack Black Intense Therapy Lip Balm in Lemon & Chamomile
I picked this up because it was so highly raved by one of my favourite bloggers – Christine from Temptalia. It’s actually really pretty good, one of the products that actually lived up to its reputation. I put this on at night before bed time and my chapped lips feel so much better the next day. I don’t, however, like to wear it during the day because it feels quite heavy and waxy/oily.

25. Dior Diorsnow UV Shield White Reveal
A sunblock I tried not to love – because it’s so expensive, but love it I did. This feels really light on the skin, not greasy at all, and dries down very quickly. There’s no detectable scent and did not break me out at all. I’m quite on the fence about picking up a full size because affordable and good sunscreens are quite easy to find but I really do like this one. Hmmm.

26. Rimmel Match Perfection Light Perfecting Cream Compact Foundation
Reviewed here. I like this – it’s convenient, gives a good coverage and is pretty cheap. It does feel a bit heavy on the skin but I have very dry skin so it’s okay for me. I already have a backup of this because it was on sale so I went and bought two!

27. Elizabeth Arden Eight Hour Cream Lip Protectant Stick
While I like Jack Black for an intense night treatment, the EA lip protectant stick is something that I always bring along on holidays in cold places and apply throughout the day. It’s not sticky or oily and it comes in a lipstick tube. It worked wonders even in sub-zero weather when my lips are peeling.

28. Tarte Amazonian Clay BB Illuminating Moisturizer
I usually love Tarte’s products but this, I did not like at all. It felt really oily and shifted around during the day – I live in a hot climate so maybe that’s to blame. I left it aside for a couple of days, and the oil and the pigment separated – so what came out was clumps of pigment lumps and oil.

And that’s finally all for this month! Whew! Have you used up anything?

3 thoughts on “Empties #12: August 2014 – Part 2

  1. I use Mane’ n Tail for my horse. She’s an anglo arab so for breed shows I need her mane and tail to be as long as possible. My trainer jokes that I take better care of her hair than my own. However, one year once show season finished I decided to take the shampoo and conditioner home so it wouldn’t sit at the barn all winter. My hair is far too dry for it. Though horse hair is very coarse, it’s uncoloured and never heat styled, so generally relatively healthy. That’s my theory on why it didn’t work for me at least. 😛

    • OHH so you really actually do use the exact same shampoo on yr horse?! :O thats so cool! actually the fact that you have a horse is already really cool…

      my hair is very coarse too, uncolored, and hardly ever heat styled, but it’s extremely dry… but i always thought horse hair would be coarser? like thick tough strands and all?

Leave a Reply

