Review: NYX Blush in Mocha


Say Hi to a blush that I have had in my collection for ages but have been neglected in preference of its higher priced blush peers – the NYX blush in Mocha! First of all, it does not in any way look like Mocha! Don’t be deceived by the name! It also does not smell like Mocha so I have no idea who and why they decided to name this product Mocha. It’s actually a really pretty dark pink/rose shade.

I have a ton of NYX blushes, and I love them a lot for their nice compact packaging – a little glossy black plastic squarish pot that flips open, with a clear top so I can easily spot what colour is in the pot, without additional wasted space for useless disposable brushes. The plastic is very light so it might feel a little cheap, but it IS cheap and I would rather they skimp on packaging.


In terms of the product, like I mentioned it’s a pretty dark pink/rose shade, with a matte finish. The pigmentation is great – very well pigmented as shown in the picture above, and I think it will definitely show up well on women with darker skins. At the same time if you’re very fair like me, this blends out well to give a light healthy pink blush – just remember to use a lighter touch!

There is a slight dry/chalkiness or slight powdery feel to the blush, especially when swatching with fingers, but it blends really well without looking chalky at all on the cheeks. One of the biggest pros was how long lasting this was on my skin – this lasted well through the morning past lunch time before it started to look like it needed a little refresh, which is about 5-6 hours. It is not scented.

I can’t remember how much I got this for, but it was in the range of USD5 for 6.4g of product, which is fantastic value! It’s not the best in terms of texture – but at its price I really think it’s great! I also find Mocha to be very flattering on me and pretty versatile as I can use it very lightly for a slight flush, or more full on if I need it. NYX has tons of blush colours to choose from so if you’re looking to expand your blush collection without having to spend too much, do give them a try!

Rating: 3.5/5

Leave a Reply

