Review: Sunday Riley Blush in Blushing


It’s probably too soon to put up a review for this blush as I’ve only just received this recently, but I am in love with it and just had to put up a little post on this. I bought this Sunday Riley blush some time ago from Cult Beauty when they had a 20% off sale, promptly forgot about it, and was pleasantly surprised to see the package on my door step about 1-2 weeks ago. I’ve been using it ever since!

Claims from website:
With air-milled particles, this silky smooth blusher is easily, evenly dispersed for a consistent, natural-looking finish. This powder is so velvety it applies like a cream, melting into skin to perk up your complexion with a whisper of beauty-boosting pigment. Sunday Riley’s hypoallergenic formula is fool-proof – sufficiently sheer to avoid ‘I did my make-up in the dark’ disasters – but with enough pigment to permit a face lifting ‘pop’ of colour on those days when your skin’s looking lack-lustre.


I like the packaging – it’s classy but very compact; it measures about 5.7cm x 5.7cm x 1.7cm, and is embossed with Sunday Riley’s name and logo on top. It comes with a nice size mirror on the inside and makes a nice click when closing. There’s some weight to the plastic – it’s thick and sturdy, but not too heavy. I also like that there isn’t any wasted space for useless brushes. It is made of a glossy plastic though so it attracts finger prints a lot.


“Blushing” is described as a “subtle pink taupe”; I don’t see any taupe in it at all. To me it’s a very soft pink with a sheen. It shows up well on my fair skin, but I suspect it will look chalky on dark skin tones. In the picture taken in daylight above, it appears very light and sheer but more pink. But in the picture taken at night with desk light, it appears a lot more coral. Applied, I don’t detect any bit of the coral – it turns out just as a light pink, with a very nice sheen. I don’t detect any shimmer bits.


The texture of this blush is really nice and soft – but not too soft. It does kick up some powder with I brush over it with a blush brush, but blends out well without any chalkiness or powder-iness when applied. The pigmentation is medium but buildable; with only 1 swipe it comes off as a very light pink, but I can layer on for a stronger look without it looking caked on. Longevity is pretty good for a blush color this light – well over most of the day, so past the 8hr mark.

This retails originally for GBP23, but I got it with 20% off, for 3g of product. I usually lean towards blushes with stronger pigmentation, but I love a nice light blush that goes on so beautifully natural while being buildable. I love how foolproof this is – because I never make a mistake of putting on too much blush with this. There is just enough pigmentation to add a flush of colour on the cheeks and really brightens up my face. It’s really effortless natural beauty. This is my perfect weekend daytime date blush when I want to look like I am really blushing at the sight of my man.

Rating: 4.5/5

Leave a Reply

