Empties #13: September 2014 – Part 2


Continuing on my EPIC empties post, here are a ton more empties that I am waving goodbye to! This is actually the more insane half of the empties post… I couldn’t believe it when I started counting them!

17. Dermal Pomegranate Collagen Essence Mask
18. Dermal Cherry Blossoms Collagen Essence Mask
19. Dermal Royal Jelly Collagen Essence Mask
20. Dermal Gold Collagen Essence Mask
21. Dermal Q10 Collagen Essence Mask

My trusty old dermal masks. I always go back to them – cheap and effective.

22. Montagne Jennesse Strawberry Souffle Moisturising & Purifying Masque
A very thick wash off mask with a very strong strawberry smell. My skin feels quite nice and moisturized after using this. Would consider repurchase if I don’t have a ton of wash off mask to go through now.


23. Alpha H Liquid Gold
Reviewed here. Love it. Will definitely repurchase.

24. Enavose 1st Line Alpine Edelweiss Dew
Not very sure what this was supposed to do. I tried using it like a toner – the texture is a little more viscuous than water. Maybe I’m using it wrong?

25. Biore Aqua Jelly Makeup Remover
26, 27. Skin Food Watery Berry Toner x2

Some of the items that I’ve been bringing to the gym. The Biore makeup remover is not something that I’d repurchase – did not do a great job at removing makeup. I did like the Skin Food toner though; I can detect a little fruity scent to it, and was pretty refreshing without stripping the skin of moisture.

27. Loreal Youth Code Pre-Essence
I bought this because a few friends of mine claimed that this was a dupe for Lancome Genifique. I don’t think this did anything for me and I’m still not too used to the idea of using a pre-essence followed by an essence. I’m just too lazy. To be honest, I’ve used Lancome Genifique before as well and that didn’t do anything for me either so I’m not sure why I picked this ‘dupe’ up.

28. Laneige Pore Trouble Emulsion
29. Shiseido White Lucent Brightening Moisturizing Emulsion

Another couple of items that I’ve been bringing to the gym. The Laneige emulsion was alright – felt like a normal emulsion – its texture is like light cream but slightly runnier. The Shiseido is very watery but did absorb very quickly and dries down fast, so probably works better as a day time lotion.

30. Lancome Genefique Youth Activator
As mentioned above, this didn’t do anything for me. I’ve also actually bought a full size bottle of this before, so I had a good try – took me ages to finish and cost a bomb – I didn’t repurchase after that.

31. SKII Cellumination Deep Surge EX
I love this. This one had a very light texture – I would actually describe it as gel-like; it’s cooling on touch with the skin but sinks in very quickly. It felt like bathing my face in moisture on contact. I would definitely be looking to get a bigger bottle to try when… I can afford S$200 for a day cream.

32. Skin Inc Regenerate Vitamin A
Reviewed here; I think it’s a nice product but I’m not too sure about paying SGD136 for a 20ml bottle unless it did miracles, and this did not.

33. Nip + Fab Dark Circles Fix
I still have a few Nip+Fab products – some of which I bought when the brand first came to Singapore, some of which I got free from Sample Store. I can’t wait to finish them and get rid of them – they really did nothing for me. Some of their products were outright terrible. This had a weird sticky texture which I was not fond of putting around my eyes, and when I did it was not worth the weirdness.


34. Laura Mercier Mineral Powder in Natural Beige
A powder that I’ve loved. This is the wrong color for me now but when it matched it’s a really nice powder foundation; the coverage is really nice and when buffed in it doesn’t look too powdery or overly made up. I think it looked really natural for a powder and photographed really well, with really good longevity for a powder. Would repurchase when my zillions of powders are gone.

35. MAC Glitter in Reflects Pearl
36. MAC Pigment in Cocomotion
I used up a MAC Reflects Gold not too long ago so I was pretty surprised when I used up another MAC Glitters! I sample out my pigments a lot, so I didn’t actually use up the whole bottle myself. I like using MAC Glitters in nailpolishes – it really makes them go bling! MAC Cocomotion is a great everyday eyeshadow color; I like MAC’s pigments because they have a nice consistency, and stay on well without too much fallout particularly for a loose eyeshadow.

37. Victoria’s Secret Beauty Rush Lip Gloss
I used to have an old system of tracking when I bought my beauty items… this one had ‘June 2008’ stamped on it. That makes it… more than 6 years old?! I’m terrified just thinking about it.

38. Clinique Long Last Glosswear in 10 Air Kiss
This lip gloss isn’t that old – I believe I received it in a beauty box about a year or so ago but it’s actually separated already! It wasn’t my favourite lipgloss in the first place – pretty thick and too sticky for me.

39. Amazing Cosmetics Amazing Concealer in Fair
I’ve had this for a really long time – so long that the product has now separated into an oily goopy mess. I loved it at the start, when I had some pimple issues – it has very high coverage so only a little is needed, and blended in well it looks amazing. It also didn’t break me out despite how high coverage it was. I couldn’t use it on my undereyes though as it’s too thick and can get crepe-y.

40. Lancome Hypnose Drama Mascara
An amazing mascara! But, it also came with a crazy price tag. I received this as gift-with-purchase, so that was the only reason why I would have such an expensive mascara but it made my lashes look SO GOOD – thick, long and seriously dramatic. I LOVE IT. I’m really tempted to repurchase.

If throwing out 40 items in a month isn’t EPIC, I don’t know how much is! I did cheat and include a few old but not-empty items, and face sheet masks which are easy to use up, but this definitely did clean out some space in my stash. I get all these mixed feelings when I throw some of these items out – like, “why did I hang on to some of these old products when I never liked them anyway”, to, “no, I can’t throw them out because they are not done yet!”. I think these are indications that I am a hoarder but there are some products that I just can’t let go of!

Have you thrown out any empties lately? What are the items that you just can’t let go of?

One thought on “Empties #13: September 2014 – Part 2

Leave a Reply

