Review: REN Clarifying Toning Lotion aka/or REN Clarimatte™ Clarifying Toner


Is it just me or does anyone else get irritated when brands rename their products, without a substantial change in the product itself? I just don’t understand why they do it! I have the older format of this REN Clarifying Toning Lotion but it is now know as the REN Clarimatte™ Clarifying Toner. Whatever the name is, it’s the same product. If you have the old one, you don’t have to run out to buy the ‘new’ toner.

Claims on website:
An alcohol free clarifying toner that unclogs pores and sloughs off dead skin leaving the complexion clear, smooth and even toned. Reduces the appearance of pore size and oiliness while its antimicrobial action minimizes the appearance of future breakouts.

Ingredients:
Salicilin from Willow Bark gently exfoliates, purifies congested skin, reduces pore size, and is antibacterial. Glycolic Acid from Pineapple Extract, Lactic Acid from Passion Fruit, Citric Acid from Lemon Extract and Tartaric Acid from Grape Extract exfoliate, decongest and remove dead skin cells to renew skin surface. Flavonoids from Mayblossom Extract have antibacterial properties, tone the skin and help to reduce sebum production and minimize pore size.

Basically, this product is an exfoliating toner – so it’s supposed to clarify the skin by removing dead skin cells. This is actually targeted towards oily and combination skin, but as usual curiosity got the better of me and I went ahead to try it out on my desert dry skin.

Surprisingly this worked out really well for me! I only use this once a day in the evening, by pouring some out on a cotton pad and wiping across my face, avoiding the eye area. It feels nice and fresh, though my skin does feel a little tighter and drier. On days that my skin feels particularly dry, I avoid using this because it can feel a little tingly and too drying. I think this is supposed to be quite mild, but I can still feel the sting when my skin is not at its best. Listen to your skin.

What I like about this is that I noticed my skin looks a bit clearer after using this, and feeling slightly less congested. I think it does reduce the appearance of pore size! I particularly like to use it around ‘the time of the month’, as I find myself getting oilier than usual with my pores more obvious; this seems to keep the oils and the hormonal breakouts slightly controlled.

All in all, I like this product. I bought it online from the LookFantastic website; it’s now £18 for a 150ml bottle, but there’s always some discount codes to be found for about 10-20% off which I think is a reasonable price. I enjoyed this for making my skin feel ‘lighter’ and less clogged, as well as look a little clearer, but wouldn’t recommend it for daily use on very dry skin. Will repurchase!

Rating: 3.5/5

One thought on “Review: REN Clarifying Toning Lotion aka/or REN Clarimatte™ Clarifying Toner

  1. Pingback: Empties #14: October 2014 – Part 2 | the fabulous nerd

Leave a Reply

