Review: Ariul Spa Water 24 hours Moisturizing Refreshing Mist


I received this recently from the Earth & Sea Memebox and I have been using this ever since. I like face mists – they’re great particularly if you live in a hot climate, which I am, or just want to have a quick pick-me-up during the day after staring at the computer for 8 straight hours, which I always do.

Claims from Memebox website:
Ariul’s Refreshing Mist is made from pure spa water extracted straight from Belgium and extremely rich in minerals, various amino acids, and moisture. It works to deliver an instant replenishment into your skin, creating a moisture barrier for preventing any dehydration for the next 24 hours at the least. It also be used as a boosting serum for enhancing absorbance of other skincare products.

I’m not quite sure what on earth is pure “spa water”. Is there such a thing? It might just be a translation issue given this is from Korea or a marketing gimmick to make it sound cooler than what it really is – just water rich with minerals and various added chemical stuff.

I adore the blue bottle – its very classy and peaceful for some reason. The liquid itself is not blue – just a transparent colorless liquid like water. I like the spray mechanism – don’t laugh but I take spray nozzles very seriously. I can’t stand abusive nozzles that squirts into my eyes. The spray for this covers a wide surface and gives off a fine mist – just the way I like it.

I really enjoy this. It’s very refreshing. There’s not a lot I can say about a facial mist really – I don’t think it can bring a lot of skin benefits with a little spritz. But I enjoy that 1) it wakes me up during the day after staring at the computer for too long, 2) helps to moisten the skin after sitting in the air conditioned room the entire day and 3) cools down the skin after being out in the sun.

One thing though – I usually pat off excess water rather than just let it dry off my face – my mom has scared me too much with tales that white spots will form if I left a wet face to dry by itself to do it. I’ve also heard that it can be drying to the skin to do so. So what I do is spritz, and pat off with a tissue.

A big negative for me – I don’t think that it lived up to its claims of “creating a moisture barrier for 24hours”, or that it can be used as a boosting serum. There’s no obvious benefits from the product that I can see, and it is very strongly scented – it’s not something that I would recommend as a skincare product or for anyone who has sensitive skin or particular about scents.

This is supposed to cost USD18 for the 100ml bottle. Would I buy it? Probably not. I think it’s too expensive for something that does not really do anything. But did I enjoy it? Yes, I definitely did. I just wish that companies would stop making all these claims that they are bound to fail at so they can charge double the price! A facial mist is all I want and a facial mist is just what this is!

Rating: 3/5

One thought on “Review: Ariul Spa Water 24 hours Moisturizing Refreshing Mist

  1. Great review, I too appreciate a good spraying mechanism! πŸ™‚ . . I try to steer clear of putting overly scented things on my face too . . I used to live in Paris & on the metro tons of people would use the Evian version . . I hope when it runs out you refill it with regular old (Free) tap water for the refreshing lift instead!! :))

Leave a Reply

