Haul & Review: MAC Pressed Pigment in Modern Majesty


It’s been awhile since I bought any MAC products – probably because of my Korean beauty kick. But I saw this new collection – the Heirloom Mix collection – in stores and somehow I was blinded by the shimmery limited edition packaging and caved. There are 8 new limited edition shades of MAC Pressed Pigment in the collection and I chose the one in Modern Majesty.


There is slightly less product in this pressed pigment, at 0.04oz, than MAC’s usual eyeshadow, which has 0.05oz, in terms of weight. The pots look like the same size as the usual eyeshadow pots; same shape and black, just like the usual pots, except for the glossy cover rather than the usual matte with silver shimmers for this limited edition version.

Claims on MAC’s website on Pressed Pigments:
Apply dry for a high shine, or on damp skin for a dramatic wet look. Provides eye-catching sheer-to-moderate buildable coverage and natural dimension finish.


Modern Majesty is a medium dark brown with green pearl/sparkle. I can see the green pearl/sparkle in the pot, but when applied it does not really translate onto the skin.

In terms of texture, it’s a bit hard, not powdery at all, and definitely not buttery smooth. It’s pretty easy to pick up color with the finger, but using a brush, because of the harder texture, I find it is harder to pick it up when used dry and I have to swipe a lot of times.

The pigmentation is pretty good and depends on whether it is used wet or dry. Applied dry, it’s pretty opaque as can be seen in the finger swatch above. Applied damp, it’s a lot more intense, and smoother. I also find it harder to blend out than usual powdered eyeshadows.


Some brush swatch, with and without primer. It’s a lot more pigmented and vibrant with primer, but can look quite soft without primer and with a nice soft brush. The color wore well for more than eight hours. I didn’t experience any fall out or creasing, but I also usually use primer.

In all, I actually kinda really regret this purchase. At $38 for an eyeshadow, I think it’s extremely overpriced and something that I should not have caved in. It’s been a while since I bought a MAC eyeshadow single so I’m not sure what the usual price is now but $38 sounds way too expensive. The quality is average – with a harder texture and more difficulty in blending – in a shade that is way too common. It’s not terrible – it looks really nice when used wet but it’s not something I do often.

Rating: 3/5

Leave a Reply

