Review: Tarte Magical Moments Deluxe Discovery Set


Picked up this Tarte Magical Moments Deluxe Discovery Set in a recent haul, which I wrote about, for S$24! This set comes with their famous Amazonian Clay 12-hour Blush in the shade Magic, a LipSurgence lip gloss in the shade Magic, and a Lights, Camera, Lashes 4-in-1 Mascara.


The lovely little treasures hidden in the box. I like the packaging – they’re very cute and girly. The blush is 1.5g and the gloss is 1.5ml; I think they’re pretty good sizes. The little blush pot is made of plastic, and doesn’t come with a in-built mirror though.


The blush in Magic is a nice lovely peachy pink. It looks a little chalky in the swatch but on the cheeks I find that it blends well and isn’t powdery or chalky at all. The texture is soft and smooth; it’s quite pigmented so use with a light hand! On me it’s a very natural shade if I apply lightly. I’m not a big fan of peachy pink blushes as I think true pinks look better on me, but I really like this.

The Lipsurgence lip gloss in Magic is another coral pink with fine golden shimmers. On the lips it appears pinkish and very glossy. I love it! It evens out my lip color and gives it a really nice shine. I don’t find it too sticky or heavy; it’s not moisturizing but doesn’t feel drying either.


As for the mascara, I like it but I think it really depends on what you’re expecting. I like that the brush is very “bushy” so it grabs onto my lashes, coats and separates them nicely as I comb it through my lashes. The formula is great – not too watery or dry, so it doesn’t give me “spider” lashes. I feel it does add some length to my lashes but not too much. However, I don’t think it really gives me the kind of lashes that I expect from its name “Lights, Camera, Lashes” – I kind of thought it will be really eye-catching; but I think it just enhances my lashes a little without being very flashy.


Just a quick look of the day to show how it all comes together – all I have on my lips is the gloss, the blush on my cheeks and the mascara on my lashes. Just for reference, the eyeshadow is Marc Jacobs Style Eye-con No. 7 in 208 The Vamp. I quite like how it looks! I think it goes together very well with a stronger eye, or for a natural look. Very polished but not overly done. I really like it!

Overall, I think this is a really lovely set at a really amazing price. The sizes are pretty good; they’re small but definitely not trial size, and the quality is just as the full size products. Highly recommend this set if you’re looking to try some products from Tarte or to gift this holiday season!

Rating: 4/5

2 thoughts on “Review: Tarte Magical Moments Deluxe Discovery Set

Leave a Reply

