Review: NYX Pure Decadence Butter Gloss Set


I don’t know what took me so long to find these but these NYX butter glosses are fantastic! I recently got this NYX Pure Decadence Butter Gloss Set from Sephora for S$20; I checked around online and found this set to be selling at about USD10 in the U.S., so considering shipping and exchange rate of USD1 for SGD1.30, the markup isn’t that bad. Plus, there are 3 full size glosses in this set, so each gloss comes up to only S$6.67, still a really reasonable price for a gloss.

As a set, I think the shades included are great with a good mix of variety. All of them have some sort of bakery theme in their name! Red Velvet is a cherry/raspberry red. Tiramisu is a nude shade, leaning towards the pink side; this is a my-lips-but-better shade. Devil’s Food Cake is a deep, berry shade; I think it looks quite vampy on me. All three glosses have a pretty strong sweet or vanilla scent, in line with the bakery-theme, so if you’re sensitive to scented lip products, you might want to avoid these.

These glosses comes with a doe-foot applicator, which I think comes in handy with the darker shades where more control is needed. For Red Velvet and Devil’s Food Cake, I find the pigmentation really good so one swipe leaves behind at least medium coverage – they can be built up to their full colour but I’m more comfortable with less coverage as shown in the lip swatches below. I think they look slightly streaky if I just applied it once; the best way to use these is to kind of work it into the lips by painting it back and forth on the lips to get it all evened out. All three leaves a lot of shine!


The texture is very smooth and buttery, just like its name! On first contact it’s quite a thick formula but I actually think it feels really comfortable on, not sticky or tacky, and quite moisturising without being heavy. However, given the comfort factor and non-sticky texture, the staying power is quite low – the lighter shade lasts about 1 hour on my lips, while the darker shades leave behind a slight stain that stays on for about 2 to 3hours even after the shine wears off in the first hour.

In all, I really like these glosses! I’m usually not a gloss fan – because they can be sticky and I’m highly sensitive to sticky glosses, but these are really comfortable to wear with really good colour payoff! They’re very reasonably priced, and the high shine is really pretty! If you’re looking for stocking stuffers this holiday season, then these will come in handy as well. Or if you’re a relatively new lip gloss user, these will be great to start with! Now my only problem is that I want to pick up the rest of the shades…

Rating: 4/5

2 thoughts on “Review: NYX Pure Decadence Butter Gloss Set

Leave a Reply

