Unboxing: The Little Black Beauty Box – December 2014


I didn’t plan to get another one of these but a bored afternoon at work brought me to random browsing and I saw that The Little Black Beauty Box now actually reveals what will be in the box before you buy them! So I had a quick look at December’s offerings and was so impressed that I immediately bought it.

The Little Black Beauty Box is supposed to be a mystery beauty box but I guess they have decided to change it… maybe because there were a few pretty disappointing boxes previously so at least now we know now what we are getting! Each box is S$22.90 inclusive of shipping, but it is not a monthly subscription service – you just buy the boxes as and when you want them.


First up is the Cle de Peau mini skincare set – consisting of their Gentle Cleansing Foam (6ml), Gentle Balancing Lotion (12ml), Gentle Protective Emulsion (5ml) and a Gentle Nourishing Emulsion (5ml). Cle de Peau is a high end brand that I wouldn’t normally have picked to try, so this set will be a great introduction to their skincare line! A couple of sachets that I didn’t bother to capture photos of – their Radiant Fluid Foundation (0.3ml) and a Sheer Fluid Veil (0.3ml).


Next, a Cle de Peau Wrinkle Correcting Concentrate (1.8ml), Shiseido Brightening Spot-Control Base UV in Ivory (10ml), Shiseido White Lucent Total Brightening Serum (9ml), Shiseido Ultimune Power Infusing Concentrate (10ml) and a Shiseido White Lucent Power Brightening Mask.


Last but not least, we have a mini Shiseido Luminizing Satin Eye Color Trio in BL215, a full size NARS Nail Polish in Jungle Red and a mini Shiseido Perfect Rouge in RD750. The eye palette has terrible pigmentation… and I think they should not have included it because the whole point of putting products in a beauty box is to attract customers to buy more right? This will definitely not get me to buy Shiseido’s eyeshadows. But I just love the nail polish – it’s a color I will use everyday and I have never tried NARS nailpolishes so just this alone has made this box totally worth it. The lipstick is also a nice everyday lip color suitable for work and feels comfortable on.

I think out of all The Little Black Beauty Boxes I have purchased, this is definitely one of their best boxes so far. The value is totally there, even if the eye palette really suck; everything is high-end and new to me, with a great variety from skincare, makeup to nailpolish, so it’s definitely exciting! Do you see anything that you’d like to try yourself?

Leave a Reply

