Review: Kevin Aucoin The Sensual Skin Enhancer


I can’t believe that I have not talked about this before, especially since there was a time that this was so hyped up on youtube and the blogosphere. Every other youtube video mentioned this, and whenever there was a foundation post this was bound to pop up in a mention or two. I first heard about it from Wayne Goss on Gossmakeupartist, and then overnight it became the most highly sought after skin base product. That was almost 2 years ago, and it was so hard to find it in Singapore then! I searched high and low and finally found it on a vacation in the US, and cost about USD45 for the 18g pot.

I’ve had mine for over 2 years, and it’s nearly finished as can be seen in photos. But actually, I did not use it up myself – I’ve been sampling them out to friends. I think it’s nearly impossible to use it up within 2 years on your own because the pigmentation is so intense. It seems like such a small pot at 18g but this is the most pigmented base product I have ever tried, so it will last an extremely long time.

Most of the time, I don’t like my base products to come in a pot. But for this item, I actually appreciate it being in a pot. Because of its high intensity of pigmentation, the open pot allows the best way to control the amount you use. If it had come in a pump bottle, then there will be no way to pump out the right amount of product for use as you really need a miniscule amount. If you’re using this as a concealer, the pot allows for the tiniest concealer brush – a tiny tap is all you need to cover several zits.


Mine is in the shade SX06; it is obviously not the right shade for me now since I bought it 2 years ago. I don’t know how many times I can emphasize how insanely pigmented this product is, but it is. A tiny pinsize can cover any kind of blemishes – several, in fact. The product is of a very thick creamy consistency – so thick that it will not move even if I turn the pot upside down. Incredibly, it does not feel waxy or oily unless you stay out under the sun. It is a heavy product though – I definitely felt it on.

But the high pigmentation also comes with a price – difficulty in blending. If you’re using this as a concealer for zits, then it should not be an issue – just use a fine tip brush, put the teeniest tiniest bit on the spot and tap it. I don’t like this on my undereye circles because it feels quite heavy, looks quite cakey and can crease; plus I don’t like to tug on my eye area and with this you have to because the texture is really very thick and the color too saturated. If you’re using this straight as a foundation, I haven’t found it to work for me – it’s impossible to blend out on the face on its own.

I’ve read how you can sheer it out with moisturizer/primer to make it blend better, and yes it does work but not with any moisturizer/primer. I tried pre-mixing for a week’s worth with a variety of moisturizers; some started to separate and some just did not blend out well. The best mix for me is the Sulwhasoo Evenfair Smoothing Makeup Base – these two together makes me look so insanely flawless, without it feeling too heavy, does not look cakey and stays on forever; plus it blends so easily with the makeup base providing much of the slip needed.

Now, I don’t have any skin reaction to this – but this feels really heavy on its own. I do not put this product on its own all over my face – I mix it with a lot of the makeup base as mentioned above. So if you’re intending to use just this on the face, I’m sorry but I cannot tell you if this will have an adverse reaction. But I would be very wary about doing this if I have oily skin or acne-prone skin.

In a nutshell? I think whether or not this product is suitable really depends on how you use it. Mixed with the right product to be used as a foundation, it really can look incredibly flawless with bulletproof staying power. However, it takes a lot of patience and trial and error to find the correct mix for yourself. This is definitely not something that you can just throw on in 5minutes in the morning – you need time to blend it in! Used as concealer for blemishes, it also takes a really light hand to not put too much on but if done correctly it will look beautiful.

Rating: 1/5 to 4/5 depending on how it’s used

Leave a Reply

