Beauty Budget #1: 6mths/S$1000


I did a round of this budgeting sometime towards the end of 2013 and I have to say I thought I did quite a good job then, not just saving money but also dwindling down my insane stash. Recently with my obsession with beauty boxes, and mindless shopping in a terrible year at work, I have accumulated a big collection of skincare and makeup products – way too much and way too fast. I’ve always had a large collection, but the recent surge from beauty boxes is just a *little* unmanageable!

So it’s time for another round of Beauty Budgeting! I’m not in debt; I just really need to use up what I have. My cupboards are overflowing with things that I might not be able to finish by the expiry date and I barely have space to walk. I have boxes of products stacked all the way to the roof! Plus I will be moving house at the end of 2015 and I don’t want to lug boxes of beauty products to the new house – I need to bring down my crazy collection to an amount that I can actually move easily.

The goal is to spend only S$1000 on beauty products in the next 6 months. That sounds like a lot, but I can easily spend about S$500 in a single month on makeup and skincare, and even more ridiculous amounts during festive months or on holidays. Plus makeup is very overpriced in Singapore. So to me, there’s no point putting a number so low that I know I will definitely fail even before I try. I think S$1000 over 6 months is a reasonable budget – that will allow me to buy what I need and some cheer-me-ups, but not enough to go crazy with.

What it will include:

  • Make up of any kind
  • Skin care of any kind
  • Shower gel, body wash, bubble bath, etc
  • Hair products of any kind
  • Deodorant, Perfume
  • Any nail related products
  • Tools such as brushes, sponges, face cloths, etc
  • Shaving products

What it won’t include:

  • Any of the “included items” that I receive as gifts
  • Any medication
  • Oral hygiene products
  • Sanitary products
  • Sun protection
  • Haircuts, facials and brow threading sessions

Now, I want to make clear that the purpose is not to deprive myself. My goal is to use up what I have and stop hoarding – therefore this budgeting will only include products and not services that I get. My obsession has gotten so out of hand – it’s just not normal to have an inventory of more than 10 eye creams, more than a year’s worth of face wash and 30 face creams. Makeup and beauty related items makes me happy and I don’t intend on ever stop buying them; but there’s a limit and I think I’m there.

Wish me luck! I will be updating every month for the next 6 months, starting on 1st January to end of June 2014, on my progress – how much of my budget I have spent and what I’ve spent it on. If you’re on a similar challenge, or want to join in this challenge as well, do leave a message so we can encourage each other!

8 thoughts on “Beauty Budget #1: 6mths/S$1000

  1. My bathroom is looking very similar to your storage tubs… I have a goal too where I’m going to use mine up before buying more – and maybe tweak my subs a bit so I don’t get so much of the same thing. Good luck! 😀

  2. I love this idea, I also love your boxes with everything similar kept in the same place. I think I’ll start doing this too as I have a ton of lroducts laying all over the place & to look at it head on is overwhelming but if I did this I know it would look less messy & I’d be able to find & use things up alot quicker & within their use by date!! Love love love it!! :)) x

  3. Pingback: Beauty Budget #2: 1st Month Progress | the fabulous nerd

  4. Pingback: Beauty Budget #3: 2nd Month Progress | the fabulous nerd

Leave a Reply

