Review: Hand Chemistry Intense Youth Complex Hand Cream


With all the money that we spend on anti-ageing skincare, one area that is often forgotten, and where all the efforts elsewhere is wasted, is our hands. Our hands are one of the places that it is the easiest for others to tell our age! Because like our face, it is one of the most exposed parts of the body. But thankfully, we can take steps to delay signs of ageing on our hands too! Enter the Hand Chemistry Intense Youth Complex Hand Cream – a hand cream that claims to leave the skin looking visibly younger in 11 days! Does it really work?

Claims on website:
Concentrated multi- functional hand cream targets 8 signs of hand aging simultaneously. The extraordinary 19.5% active complex concentration visibly improves firmness, elasticity, density, evenness, brightness, texture, smoothness and hydration. HAND CHEMISTRY contains a biotechnological derivative of the mushroom, Tremella Fuciformis Sporocarp, shown to be 400 x more moisturising than Hyaluronic Acid. Skin moisture content can be increased by 11% in just 12 hours thanks to the inclusion of an algae ferment. Sacha Inchi oil and Maize Propanediol work together to form a protective moisture barrier, ensuring that the skin is able to hold on to this new-found moisture.

I’ve never been good at science so I have no clue about what the ingredients are, and if they really work as claim. But I have to say that there are a lot of claims to this product! I also wonder why they chose 11 days as the benchmark… why not make it 2 weeks? Maybe everyone else uses 2 weeks, so the marketing team went like, “Oh we gotta sound better so let’s make it 11 days!”.

The first thing you notice when you put this on is the scent – it is very, very strong. It smells like some kind of citrus – maybe a mix of peaches and grapefruit. I don’t think the scent is natural, because I don’t see anything citrus-like in the ingredients but I could be wrong. I also see fragrance as an ingredient. Personally, I adore the scent. Citrus is my thing. But if you’re sensitive to scents, or dislike citrus scents, I would say stay really far away because the smell is very strong.

The hand cream is white in colour with a medium consistency and smooth texture. Applied on the back of my hands, this absorbed into the skin instantly – it does not feel oily at all and appears matte almost immediately. However, in the palms, I do feel like it absorbs a little less easily, leaving behind a slightly slippery feel so that is something that I don’t like.

As a person with very dry skin, my hands look a lot older than the skin on my face so I was definitely hoping that this could turn back time on my hands. But unfortunately, I have to report back that I don’t think my hands looked “visibly younger” in 11 days – at least not to the naked eye. My skin does feel slightly smoother, as well as less dry/cracked, but the lines on my hands are just as visible.

I’ve been using it only for over 2 weeks, so while this didn’t live up to the claims of “visibly younger hands”, I like it. My hands are very dry, so I’m happy that it feels smoother and more comfortable… and the effect lasted for quite a while. That’s my biggest complain about a lot of beauty products – they like to put so many big claims that it is really hard for any great product to truly live up to them. In a blind test, this would definitely come up as one of my favourite hand creams so far.

I got this item from a LookFantastic Beauty Box, but it sells regularly for £18.99 on lookfantastic website for a 100ml tube. That’s very expensive to me, for a hand cream. Right now, I don’t think I would repurchase but… I will continue to use this and if I see my hands “visibly younger” in a couple of weeks more, then I might reconsider.

Rating: 4/5

Leave a Reply

