Empties #17: January 2015 – Part 1


It’s the first empties post of 2015! Oh boy, am I excited! Now that I’m on a beauty budget, I’ve been focusing on using up what I already have this month, rather than buying more new items. I always neglect the foil packs – even on holidays, I don’t bring them along though they would be more convenient as I like to carry little bottles of skincare that I know will work well on me, so this month I’ve been trying to dwindle my stash of sample foil packs down.

Rating system:
♣ No idea as it’s too small, no opinions or have no impression of.
♥♥ Dislike.
♥♥♥ Neutral/ok; will not repurchase.
♥♥♥♥ Liked; but may or may not repurchase.
♥♥♥♥♥ Holy grail; will repurchase or have repurchased.

1. Yu Choo by Me Steam Silk Hair Pack ♥♥♥
A Memebox item – it was fun to try but I won’t be repurchasing. I do feel that my hair feels smoother after using it, but also oilier and flatter. Plus the whole process was a little cumbersome, having to keep this bag on my head; I just prefer to use a regular hair mask.

2. Benefit The Porefessional Shine Vanishing Pro Powder
A teeny sample. Too little to tell if it did anything really. But I really dislike samples of powder that comes in a little foil pack. How do they expect me to use it?!?

3. Hazeline Snow Moisturizing Cream ♥♥♥♥
Not exactly used up; it’s just too old – it’s cheap anyway so I will just buy a new one when I need it. I only use this for a specific purpose. There are times when my skin gets so sensitive that using any product feels painful and my skin will start to flake. Nothing else works when that happens, except for this; this calms down my cranky skin without fail – I don’t know how. But when my skin is more normal, I don’t feel like it does anything for it so I don’t use it on a regular basis.

4. The Body Shop Cocoa Butter Cream Body Scrub ♥♥♥♥♥
Reviewed here. I love this stuff. If they were cheaper, I would stockpile them and use them everyday.

5. Bliss Lemon+Sage Body Butter ♥♥♥♥
Took this from a hotel. I really enjoyed this – it’s nice and thick, but unlike other body butters this comes in a tube. I like the scent – it’s lemony but not too overpowering.

6. L’oreal Revitalift Laser X3 Anti-Aging Transforming Eye Cream ♥♥♥
I like using this because of its applicator – just squeeze and directly ‘wipe’ it around the eye. But I don’t think this did anything for me, and isn’t quite moisturising enough for me.

7. La Roche-Posay Thermal Spring Water ♥♥♥
I don’t think this actually does anything for the skin, but being in Sunny Singapore, I enjoy my face sprays – helps to cool down after being outside, or freshens up after a long day.

8. Korres Citrus Showergel ♥♥♥♥
Ah, do you see a trend? I really love my citrus scents! I like this – the scent is quite light but distinctly citrus so that makes me happy. This foams up pretty well, but doesn’t strip my skin of moisture.

9. Nip+Fab Cellulite Fix Body Sculpting Gel ♥♥
I am officially giving up on trying any more Nip+Fab products. They have lovely packaging, but their products do not work. I’ve tried several items, from skincare to concealer to body care; I have not liked a single item so unless I get them from a subscription box or free, I will not touch any of their products.

10. Bio-essence Celebrity’s Choice Inchloss Body Cream Extra Strength ♥♥♥
This is a helluva HOT cream! It’s a tiny tube so I’ve only had like 2 uses out of it; there’s no way that I can judge if it works or not but once it gets on the skin, it feels like my fats are burning. If I put it on before bed and not bathe the next morning, I could feel the heat throughout the next day.

11. La Roche-Posay Uvidea Aqua Fresh Gel ♥♥♥♥
12. Sulwhasoo Herblinic Restorative Ampoule ♥♥♥♥
13. It’s Skin Power 10 Formula VE Effector with Vitamin E
14. It’s Skin Smart Solution 365 Silky Sun Block x2 ♥♥♥
I always love La Roche-Posay sun creams; never sticky and never causes any breakouts for me. I’ve tried the Sulwhasoo ampoule before and I loved them; it has a signature scent which I’m a fan of. The It’s Skin serum is too small for me to really tell although it has a very lovely light and liquid texture; I did like the brand’s sun block – very lightweight and absorbs super quickly.

I had to run through part 1 pretty quickly because work is starting to get hectic… I used to take about 2 days to write one empties post since it’s nearly a mini review for every item, but this one took me about a couple of hours as I really to get some work done. I might have to cut back on my posts very soon as my work start to ramp up; either that or try to talk less per post. I’m still trying to work out a manageable middle ground so please bear with me for now! Anyway, that’s the end of part 1 for now; I will be right back with part 2 of more empties really soon!

Leave a Reply

