The 5Min Review: Clarins Gentle Exfoliator


I’ve heard so much about this Clarins Gentle Exfoliator, especially from Caroline Hiron’s blog, but it was so hard to find – this is not sold in Singapore, I couldn’t find it online, and when I finally found it in Italy, it was sold everywhere. I finally found the last one in a countryside store and grabbed it. Can’t remember how much it cost though – at that point, I really didn’t care because I finally found it!

This is meant to be a brightening toner, with Tamarind and White Nettle to get rid of dry surface cells and enlarged pores. This contains glycolic, salicylic and tartaric acid.

This has a pretty strong chemical scent, but this does not feel as bad as it smells. I’ve tried a few other acidic toners and some of them really sting the face – but this does not. The texture is slightly thicker than a lot of toners I’ve used – it’s still liquid just not as fluid in consistency as water. I use this once a night, putting it on a cotton pad and wiping it over my face.

In short, I like it – it’s not drying on my skin, and doesn’t sting. I feel like it keeps pimples at bay, and my skin feels slightly less congested when I’m using it regularly, but I can’t really see the brightening effect. I wouldn’t go out of my way to find it again though – I don’t think it did enough for me to scour the entire world for it but if it’s convenient for you then I would recommend it.

One thought on “The 5Min Review: Clarins Gentle Exfoliator

  1. Pingback: Empties #20: April 2015 – Part 2 | the fabulous nerd

Leave a Reply

