Empties #20: April 2015 – Part 2


Welcome back to Part 2 of my empties post for April 2015! Do you ever feel like, when you’re nice or the responsible one, people seem to take advantage of you? This is what my April felt like – I’ve been running around helping other people and I can feel myself burning out. My to-do list for others are so long, but a lot of things are for people really close to me so I just can’t say no. Add on all of my own issues to settle – and my skin suffers. I’m going to hold back trying new stuff for the next month or so, to let my skin have a rest; so I’m guessing that next month’s empties won’t be so full! But then again, I always surprise myself. Anyway, let’s dig into my beauty trash!

Rating system:
♣ No idea as it’s too small, no opinions or have no impression of.
♥♥ Dislike.
♥♥♥ Neutral/ok; will not repurchase.
♥♥♥♥ Liked; but may or may not repurchase.
♥♥♥♥♥ Holy grail; will repurchase or have repurchased.

19. Hera Homme Dual Cleansing Foam ♥♥♥
Yes I know this is meant for men – but I think a lot of these classification are for marketing purposes. Not very special; just your regular cleansing foam.

20. Nature Republic Argan Essential Deep Care Shampoo ♥♥♥
21. Nivea In-Shower Skin Conditioner Body Lotion ♥♥♥
A couple of shower items. I do like the shampoo – I think it’s quite smoothing, but slightly heavy and weighs down my hair. I find the Nivea skin conditioner very cumbersome, having to shower it off again – I’ve used one up last month, and the second sachet have not changed my mind about it.

22. DHC Suncut 50+ Aqua Gel SPF50+ ♥♥♥♥
23. Cult51 Immediate Effects Serum
I like the DHC sun protection – dries down very fast, no tacky feeling with a high SPF. What’s not to like? The Cult51 serum had only enough for one use – I never understood why people bother giving out sachets that people can only try once, especially when it’s a skincare item.


24. Clarins Gentle Exfoliator Brightening Toner ♥♥♥♥
Reviewed here. I like it and I think it helps keep blemishes at bay, but I did not see any brightening effect and I wouldn’t go through all the trouble again to get it.

25. Primera Watery Cream Alpine Berry ♥♥♥♥
Reviewed here. Very moisturising, but also very lightweight. I love this and will repurchase it the next time I’m in Korea, or if they decided to set up store in Singapore!

26. Phytomer Hydrasea Ultra-Moisturising Polarized Water Serum
I’m sorry but I really wasn’t paying attention while I was trying this…

27. Laneige Water Bank Essence EX ♥♥♥
This is alright; it’s quite lightweight, but nothing too impressive. I find that I am generally not impressed by Laneige’s products. I have a lot of friends who are huge fans of this Korean brand, but I just have not found anything that really stood out or did anything for my skin.

28. Purederm Cooling Mint Shower Jelly ♥♥♥♥
As someone who really dislike minty scents, I found myself really enjoying this! It’s a wobbly jelly that lathers up when you put it in the little net provided and rubbed over the body. It didn’t last very long though – it looks quite big but I used it up in less than 10 showers.

29. Cle de Peau Beaute Refreshing CLeansing Foam
Like the month of April, I can’t remember anything about this either…


30. Revlon Colorstay Whipped Creme Makeup in 220 Nude ♥♥♥♥♥
I go back to this time and time again – even as compared to new or more expensive foundations on the market, I find that this photographs so beautifully, looks so natural in person and stays on for a really long time. 220 Nude is also a perfect colour match for me. Definitely repurchasing it!

31. MAC Pigment in Heritage Rouge ♥♥♥♥
A really pretty dark plummy purple shade, this is great for creating smokey eye looks. MAC’s pigments are great but quite expensive; thankfully the quantity is pretty big and it’s not possible to use up by myself – so I’ve sold most of it to others to offset the cost!

32. TheBalm Shady Lady Vol II Devilish Danielle ♥♥♥♥♥
This was my everyday brow highlight for the longest time. Wonderful buttery smooth texture, blends so easily and is a perfect nude brow highlight shade for me – not too yellow or white and no glitter. I would definitely repurchase it if it came in a single!

33. Clinique Bottom Lash Mascara in 01 Black ♥♥♥♥
This is a really great bottom lash mascara. I’m just sad that I didn’t use it more often, as I only bother with my bottom lashes when I have a hot date or have to doll up for some major functions. I would repurchase it if I think that I will have a lot of functions coming up.

34. MAC Powerpoint Eye Pencil in Forever Green
This dried out on me. I had it from a long time back and I really can’t recall when was the last time that I’ve used it! I must have enjoyed it when it was still good though judging from the length!

35. Pond’s Flawless White BB+ Whitening Expert BB Cream SPF30 ♥♥♥♥♥
Pond’s is a brand that has been around for a while but my impression of it is that it’s a boring brand targeted towards older women. I randomly picked up this BB cream while on holiday in the Philippines, and I have to say that I’m very surprised by it. I really liked it – I’m not a big fan of BB cream but this was really great! It has fantastic coverage, not thick and greasy, had a reasonable SPF, and stayed on all day long. I would definitely purchase the full size of this anyday.

So that’s it – 35 empties used up in a month that just simply flew by! Bloody impressive, if I do say so myself – especially since I wasn’t really paying attention and making an extra effort to empty out my products. While I can’t remember most of what really went on in April, at least I have a huge basket of empties to remind me what I’ve used up in the month!

What about you? How was April for you, and did you use up anything?

Leave a Reply

