Unboxing: So Susan Lip Love Bag – May 2015


I’ve been looking around for new beauty box to subscribe to when I chanced upon the So Susan Lip Love Bags. These are makeup-centric beauty bags with full size products, but with majority of the products from their own So Susan brand; I’ve never tried or seen So Susan products anywhere else, but I’ve seen a few other unboxing posts on them and they all looked amazing so I thought I’ll give it a go. I bought the 3-month subscription for USD47.85 and apparently I had a partner reduction of about 20%, though I’m not quite sure how – but I sure ain’t complaining about getting a discount!

This month’s theme is “I Love Vacations”, all about “healthy, skin loving products to rejuvenate that glow in you and get you ready for the summer of your dreams”. It came with a really cute canvas bag, with their brand and a lovely picture on it. I think it’s really quite nice and the quality is pretty good, so I will be using it. There is also a little bonus item of an anchor bracelet, which ties in well with the whole holiday theme. I’m not usually one to wear little accessories but I’m kind of drawn to this one!


Item 1: So Susan Creme Couture Soft-Focus Cream Blush in Terracotta
This was stated as a “bonus item” and the RRP is USD16. This is a cream blush with “wrinkle relef complex” in them. It’s pretty creamy and applies easily. I tried a little on my face and I like the colour! It’s a very summery colour, and for a cream blush it really does not feel sticky at all.

Item 2: Jelly Pong Pong Play Paint in Damson
This is a velvety lip/cheek cream and the RRP is USD13. It’s very pigmented and supposed to give 10hours of wear for the lips and cheeks, and is formulated with pumpkin seed oil to prevent moisture loss. Once again, I think the colour is gorgeous and really appropriate for the theme – but I’m finding it hard to wear it on my cheeks because of how pigmented it is and its quick drying time. I’ll need to play around with it a little more to find the best way to use this.


Item 3: The Beauty Crop Lighting Crew in Love You So Matcha
This is an oil-free highlighting cream nourished with pineapple and green tea, and the RRP is USD18. I think the shade is very wearable, not too sparkly or shiny. This blends out quite easily and on my skin, gives a really nice shine without being too bronze or gold.

Item 4: So Susan Light Diffuser in Cocoa Dust
This is an illuminator and bronzer duo, with RRP of USD18. Can I just say that this smells insanely yummy? It reminds me of the Too Faced Chocolate Soleil, except that the cocoa scent in this is much stronger. It is made with Cocoa, papaya and kelp extract. The bronzer side is nice but I found the pigmentation for the highlighter side quite lacking. Plus the texture is on the drier side for both. The size of the pot is also too small for a face duo…. I can’t really fit a proper size brush into just one side!

In all, I’m really quite happy with my Lip Love bag. This had a USD75 value, including a USD10 value for the anchor bracelet, versus the USD16 I paid for each bag. I think it is a really well curated bag – it’s quite hard to find a beauty bag nowadays that actually really followed the theme of the month! I liked most items, and I have never tried any of them so this scores high on both excitement and enjoyment. This month’s box gets a big thumbs up from me!

Leave a Reply

