Review: Tom Ford Cream and Powder Eye Color in 04 Midnight Sea


I’ve been on a little lucky streak lately – we were just out shopping at Tangs when the fiance decided to surprise me for no reason and bought this Tom Ford Cream and Powder Eye Color in 04 Midnight Sea! This cost S$85 for 7ml of cream and 2.2g of powder. I think it’s pretty expensive for something so small, so I’m super giddy with happiness that the fiance decided to get it for me. This is from the Tom Ford Summer 2015 – there are 4 limited edition Cream and Powder Eye Color in the collection.

I’ve always loved Tom Ford’s beauty packaging; they’re always well thought out and sleek, and this was once again, beautiful and luxurious looking. This comes in a little plastic white flip-up top for the powder eyeshadow in the top layer, and a transparent screw off pot at the bottom for the cream eyeshadow. And of course, the signature “TF” printed on the top, with a gold-coloured outer paper box.


Anyway, this duo contains a sparkly blue-teal powder eyeshadow, and a dark smokey taupe brown cream eyeshadow. These are really gorgeous colours, though I’m not sure if I would have selected them myself, as they’re not really colours that I would wear everyday, but I’m guessing that might be my fiance’s point – that I need to stop buying neutral eyeshadows!

The powder eyeshadow is really sparkly; I tried the powder eyeshadow in the rest of the collection and they seem to be quite sheer, except for this. This can be worn alone – a sheer layer when used with a fluffy brush, or layered for full colour and will really stand out. I think it applied very smoothly with really good pigmentation, despite it feeling quite thin and not so creamy when swatched with the finger, and the glitters/shimmers didn’t have as much fallout as I had expected from something so sparkly! I’ve worn this on its own and it stayed on well for the whole day, without any obvious fall out.


The dark brown cream is really creamy and the pigmentation is just insane! You really only need very little of it for full colour. It has some silver sparkles/shimmer in it, which is only obvious when blended out – they’re not noticeable in the pot so I was surprised when I saw the shimmer glimmering through. It’s such a beautiful complex shade; the shade you get depends on how sheer/opaque you wear it and also what it is paired with. It can be blended out to let the other colours in it come through, or worn with full opaque color for a really dark smokey eye. It applied very evenly, smoothly and is so easy to blend. It takes a while to dry down but when it sets, it stays put; on me, it lasts quite well through the day. Layered, the two create a dirty, blackened blue-teal with a very sparkly, metallic sheen.

I must say that I really love this – partly because it’s a surprise gift from the fiance, but mostly because it’s a really lovely product. At S$85, I would say that I don’t think I will be purchasing more of them myself, but if you can afford it, I would say definitely give this a try! I’m also really glad that the fiance picked this shade because I found it really quite unique and kind of justified it at the price point.

Leave a Reply

