Unboxing: Lip Monthly – May 2015


Lip Monthly is a subscription box for lip products. The official marketing blurb from the website is: “For only $10/month, LipMonthly helps you discover the best lip products on the market. Every month we’ll send you a unique box straight to your door and help you discover the best of Lip Glosses, Lip Sticks, Lip Balms, Lip Stains and much more.” Let’s see if it lived up to its claims!

For an international subscriber, I had to pay an additional USD5 for shipping, bringing the total cost for the box to USD15. I don’t know when they shipped it because there was no notification of shipping from the company – I just received the May box suddenly one day, on 6 June.

The package is actually very small; it comes in a little envelope mailer. Within the envelope mailer is a little makeup bag with the “Lip Monthly” printed on it, where everything else is kept in. I’ve seen other unboxing posts on Lip Monthly which shows an information card but I didn’t get one in mine.


Item 1: Jing Ai Velvet Shine Lip Jewel in Raspberry Ice
I’ve never heard about this brand before but this is a really beautiful shade! Really bright raspberry; glides on super smoothly with full pigmentation. I’ve only had it on my lips for about 5 minutes so this is not a full review, but I think it’s really pretty.

Item 2: Ofra Long Lasting Liquid Lipstick in Laguna Beach
Another brand that I’ve never heard of before. This looks like quite a pretty nude lip shade when swatched, but turned out slightly pale/pasty on my lips. The texture is quite interesting though, not very sure how to describe it but slightly grainy and not too smooth.

Item 3: Milani Power Up Gloss Stain in Pink Lemonade
I’ve tried and loved many Milani products, but it’s not easily available in Singapore so I’m happy to get this. This is such a pretty and intense shade! It’s very glossy, slightly sticky and thick. It’s supposed to be a 2-in-1 gloss & stain, so I will have to wear it longer to test it for longevity.

Item 4: NYC Sky Rise Lengthening Mascara Extreme Black
This mascara was a bonus item in the box. I have tons of mascara so I will either wait to use it or sell it.

The website says that there are supposed to be 2-3 full size products and 2-3 sample products. I got full size for everything; but I have seen some blogs who received free sponsored Lip Monthly bags with 6 items, versus my 4 items. I think it’s quite dishonest to send out free bags with different products included to bloggers to promote their bags, when actual subscribers won’t be getting the same things.

I’m actually very happy with my lip monthly box this month. It’s my very first box from them and every shade is usable and beautiful, with a good mix of interesting brands – I think OFRA and Jing Ai are supposed to be quite expensive too. I also like that it comes in a reusable little makeup bag – you can never have too many of them!

Have you tried a lip monthly box before? What are your thoughts on them?

If you want to try Lip Monthly, use this link and one of the coupons below.
“2FREE” to get 2 months FREE on Annual Subscriptions!
“1STFREE” to get your first month for FREE on 4 Month Subscriptions!
“1ST5” to get your first month for only $5 on Monthly Subscriptions!

*Products are 100% paid for by me. Referral links are used in this post.

Leave a Reply

