Review: Missha Time Revolution The First Treatment Essence


Missha is one of those brands who have gained prominence in Asia as a copy-cat brand – they recreate very high-end beauty products and sell them at a much more affordable price. The Time Revolution is one of such items – this is supposed to be a “dupe” for the SKII’s Facial Treatment Essence.

I have tried SKII’s Facial Treatment Essence but since I am not currently using it, I don’t have a bottle so show. I have loved the SKII version a lot – the effects are definitely visible, at least for me, for the initial bottle. The problem I had with the SKII version is that it is very expensive – for something that looks like water, and also the subsequent bottles did not give me the same effect like the first. I don’t know if it’s because my skin got used to it or if that was the best condition that my skin could reach.

The Missha First Treatment Essence contains 80% Fermented Yeast Concentrate, which is also supposed to be the active ingredient in SKII’s Facial Treatment Essence. This Missha version has very similar texture to the SKII’s. Although it is called an “essence”, the texture is not like other essence. It is clear like water, and have the density or lightness of water. It feels refreshing on, but so would water.

It’s recommended that you apply this “as the first step of the skincare regimen”, according to the website, but I use this right after cleansing (or after a toner). You can use this either with your hands – by lightly patting it on the face – or pour some on a cotton pad and wipe. I prefer using a cotton pad because it’s easier to control how much product I am using.

I’m nearly done with this first bottle, which took me months to do so with daily night use. I really like it! I think with consistent use, my skin does look clearer and brighter – almost like the same effect as I remembered I had with the SKII. I still get breakouts now and then, but there’s just a brightness that’s hard to describe – like the dullness or sallowness has been removed.

However, I didn’t think that the effect lasted very long. I definitely saw the brightness or radiance in my skin in the first couple of weeks, but as the weeks went on, I thought it wasn’t as impressive anymore. I let it sit aside for a few weeks before resuming, and I thought that it worked better in the subsequent weeks after that. So perhaps, the skin does get used to the ingredients in it? I don’t know.

I would definitely still recommend this. They’re a much more affordable version than the SKII, and I think the effect is really quite similar. What I would do is to start using this about 2 weeks before an important event when you need your skin to look its best for that “glow of radiance” or clarity in the skin. Besides, everyone’s skin is different and this might continue to work for longer than it did for me.

One thought on “Review: Missha Time Revolution The First Treatment Essence

  1. Pingback: Empties #22: July 2015 – Part 1 | the fabulous nerd

Leave a Reply

