Unboxing: So Susan Lip Love Bag – June 2015


After last month’s great bag, I have been looking forward to this month’s So Susan Lip Love Bag… but it only just arrived in July! I’m not upset actually; the canvas bags that the products are packed in were stuck in transit, but the company did keep us updated of the delay, and offered to ship June’s bag earlier but with an older canvas bag. I didn’t really mind the wait in exchange for a relevant bag, so I let it be. I bought the 3-month subscription for USD47.85 and apparently I had a partner reduction of about 20%, though I’m not quite sure how; this is the 2nd bag in my subscription.

This month’s theme is “I Love Tea Time” – “June is the month of tea parties, out in the garden, and under the beautiful sunshine. This bag will be your friend in need, to remind you that worrying is worthless, and to celebrate this moment that you are in. Raise your cup you beautiful soul!”. The canvas bag have prints of tea pots and tea cups, with the quote “Worrying is worthless. Drink your tea slowly and reverently, without rushing toward the future… Live the actual moment.” I like these bags – because you can’t have enough little pouches/bags! There is also a little bonus of a pair of “infinity earrings” worth USD10 – I don’t wear accessories, and I can’t wear silver so this is a little wasted.

Item 1: So Susan Cashmere Blush in Rose Chiffon
This was stated as a “bonus item” and the RRP is USD16. This is a power blush with “PoreFade technology” which minimizes the appearance of large pores and absorbs excess oil. The blush feels insanely soft and buttery, and I really love the packaging – I think it’s really pretty and girly. The shade isn’t what I’d imagine “rose chiffon” to be though; it’s a bit more coral than rose.

Item 2: Jelly Pong Pong Paradise Pigments in Cake Pop
The RRP for this is USD20. This is a lip/cheek cream; I’ve received one of this in the shade Fig Jam in a Lip Monthly box – Cake Pop is a lot more coral pink. I don’t think I need 2 of these so I will most likely be giving this away, so I won’t open it up to swatch.


Swatches: Rose Chiffon blush, Vanilla highlightening pencil, Black Current lip tint

Item 3: Jelly Pong Pong Bare Necessities Highlighting Pencil in Vanilla
The RRP for this is USD18. THis is a Maracuka-powered crayon that is supposed to work as an eye shadow base, waterliner, highlighter, and concealer in one. Honestly, I don’t see how it can work as a concealer? The shade Vanilla has quite a lot of pink in it in real life – more coral/pink beige, than skin or true vanilla colour. I think it will work as a brow highlighter, and an eye shadow base, but I’m really quite skeptical about the rest of the claims. Will give this a try.

Item 4: So Susan Lip Dome Plumping Lip Tint in Black Currant
The RRP for this is USD12. This is supposed to be a long-wearing hybrid between a rich stain and a hydrating balm. I really love the shade – a deep black currant, for lack of a better description! I haven’t tried it on my lips yet as I literally just received this bag, but I can’t wait!

This bag has a claimed USD76 value. To me, the earrings are of no value to me so the true value – assuming that the stated prices are reasonable – is about USD66, which is still great as compared to the price I paid! The blush texture feels really incredible, and I am very excited about the plumping lip tint because the swatches look so good! I think the curation is once again, great! On the other hand, I think it’s not a beauty box that I would want to continue subscribing to for a long time because I will end up with a lot of So Susan and Jelly Pong Pong products.

The bag also came with a discount code for 25% off the website because of the delay. I don’t know if you have to be a subscriber to use the code, but if you’re interested to buy anything from the website, just send me a message and I will give you the code to try!

So what do you think of this month’s box?

Leave a Reply

