Empties: August 2015 – Part 4


And so we have finally made it to the last part of August empties! Given how much I have and how I used to like opening up everything the moment I get them to “try”, to be able to stick with a few items and use them up, it makes me so happy! Let’s not waste any more time and dive right in!

Rating system:
♣ No idea as it’s too small, no opinions or have no impression of.
♥♥ Dislike.
♥♥♥ Neutral/ok; will not repurchase.
♥♥♥♥ Liked; but may or may not repurchase.
♥♥♥♥♥ Holy grail; will repurchase or have repurchased.

35. NARS Orgasm Blush ♥♥♥♥
There’s still quite a bit left at the sides of the pan, but I’ve had it so long that the texture has slightly changed and it’s harder to get colour off. But when it was still freshly bought a few years ago, I had loved it so much that it was all I used for a few months. I don’t think I will actually repurchase; I’m not a really big fan of sparkly peachy peach blushes anymore like I used to be.

36. Pixi Flawless Vitamin Veil Foundation in No1 Fair ♥♥♥♥
This has a good amount of slip but feels very light on – it kinda depends on what skin type you have; I have dry skin so this worked really well with my skin and stayed on for a good amount of time. The coverage is quite light though, possibly because of the very light texture.

37. Kevin Aucoin The Sensual Skin Enhancer in SX06 ♥♥
Reviewed here. I really wanted to say that I loved this because when used right, this gives an amazing flawless look with bulletproof staying power. However, it took me really long to find the right way to use it, and even then it didn’t always worked – when it isn’t working, it looks horrendously caked on.

38. Catrice Camouflage Cream in 020 Light Beige ♥♥♥♥♥
Reviewed here. A really incredible concealer – definitely a repurchase item for me. The more I use it, the more I liked it. At first I didn’t like that it’s slightly drier than the MAC Studio Finish Concealer but I’ve found that it stays on so much better and looks more natural because of its texture. The colour is a perfect match for my skin – I can wear it without foundation and powder, and my skin looks flawless!

39. Elizabeth Arden Ceramide Lash Extending Treatment Mascara ♥♥♥♥
I’ve had a number of these mascaras before and this is the last in my stash. I really enjoyed this – it’s in a great travel size, and has lots of bristles that deposits enough product but separates the lashes too.

40. Diptyque L’Eau du Trente-Quatre Eau de Toilette
41. Paul Smith Rose Eau de Parfum ♥♥♥
Can’t remember anything about the Diptyque fragrance at all… but as usual I like the Paul Smith’s Rose parfum, just because I like rose scents.


42. Essence Marble Mania Nail Polish in 04 Peaches ♥♥
I usually like Essence nail polishes but this one, which is from one of the limited editions, had a thicker texture that I didn’t like. It’s dried out now so out it goes.

43. Essence Colour & Go Quick Drying Nail Polish in 08 Ultimate Pink ♥♥♥♥
I like this – this has the usual Essence nail polish consistency; applies opaque in one coat.

44. Revlon Nail Polish in 680 Revlon Red ♥♥♥♥
This used to be my favourite red nail polish. Had a great consistency, applies opaque in one coat.

45. The Face Shop Nail Color in PK103 ♥♥
This was actually a lighter pink that I didn’t like so I added a lot more pigment powder into it – it did work well for a little while, but the extra pigment also made it turn goopy much faster.

46. MAC Nail Lacquer in Hangin’ Loose (Cream) ♥♥♥♥
This was my favourite nude polish – two coats to be opaque. I don’t like the small brush, because it made the brush strokes more visible but I love the colour. But this turned goopy really quickly. I’m quite sad about that because it was so expensive for a nailpolish.

47. Mavala Nail Color in 226 Sparkling Red ♥♥♥♥
48. OPI Nail Lacquer ♥♥♥
Two mini nailpolishes; I have no idea what the OPI nail lacquer shade is. I liked the Mavala one – I used it so many times during last Christmas! But the problem with mini nail lacquers are that they dry out so quickly, and it takes so much more effort to apply as the brushes are smaller.

48, yes 48 empties in the month of August! Okay, to be fair, a few items weren’t exactly “empty” but rather too old or in the case of the nail polishes, dried out. But I think it’s still an insane amount! It’s crazy – but all the empties actually fill up a rubbish bag!

I have another 8 months or so before moving into my new house – if I could do this every month, I think moving will be so much easier. Though I doubt it’s possible to use up so many on a consistent basis! I really love doing these empties posts – ever since I started writing them, I feel like I’ve been more focused on using things up rather than try everything, and saving a lot of money at the same time because I feel less of an urge to buy something that I already have.

Have you used up anything lately?

Leave a comment